You need help right away if you’re charged with a drug crime in Burbank. You can end up facing a tough legal battle if you try to go it alone. A drug crimes conviction can lead to harsh fines and even time spent in jail or prison.
A drug crimes lawyer in Burbank can provide you with the support and advice you need. You can count on the Simmrin Law Group to take on your case and start building your defense before it’s too late.
Drug Possession Charges in Burbank
You can end up facing harsh penalties if you are found with small amounts of a controlled substance even for your own personal use. Drug possession charges can be brought against anyone found with certain restricted:
Some individuals even end up arrested because they are found with common painkillers, like codeine and hydrocodone, or steroids. Because many illicit substances also have medical uses, it can be easy to end up facing drug charges in Burbank.
Burbank sometimes uses unique charges for different drugs. For examples, you could be charged specifically with:
- Possession of Vicodin
- Possession of Meth
A conviction for drug possession can lead to 1 year in jail and fines of $1,000.
Understanding Marijuana Possession
Note that the laws regarding the possession of marijuana have recently changed in California. The use of marijuana has been partially decriminalized. You are now allowed to:
- Possess some amounts of marijuana
- Possess some concentrated cannabis
- Participate in small amounts of marijuana cultivation
You are only allowed to grow or possess marijuana if you are over 21. You could still face criminal charges for marijuana possession if you are found with large amounts of this drug.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Burbank, call (310) 928-9347
Criminal Charges and Possession for Sale
Many people have a difficult time understanding the difference between drug possession and possession for sale. In brief:
Drug possession charges are used if you are found with small amounts of an illicit substance.
Possession for sale charges are used if you are found with more of an illicit substance than the court thinks you could use personally. You can be charged with possession for sale even if no one sees you selling a drug.
You can be charged with possession for sale if you are found with any controlled substance, including marijuana. Intent to sell marijuana charges can be brought against anyone who:
Possession for sale is charged more harshly than drug possession in Burbank. You can end up spending 4 years in prison and left with fines of up to $20,000 after a possession for sale conviction. Make sure you’re ready for your day in court by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Burbank as soon as possible.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Drug Trafficking Laws in California
Possession for sale and drug trafficking are also very similar charges, however they vary greatly in severity. You can end up being fined millions of dollars and sentenced to 40 years in a federal prison for a drug trafficking charge.
Drug trafficking charges are handled so severely because they involve making, possessing, or distributing illicit substances in order to sell them. These sales usually take place across state lines, which means drug trafficking cases are generally handled by the federal court system, instead of in state court.
Any federal conviction can lead to serious repercussion. Make sure you’re ready to face any accusations that come your way with a drug crimes lawyer who understands both the state and federal court system.
Burbank’s Charges for Drug Paraphernalia
Tools that are used with controlled substances are referred to as drug paraphernalia in Burbank. You can face serious criminal charges if you are found with these tools. The following are common examples of drug paraphernalia:
- Needles (in some circumstances)
- Crack Pipes
- Cocaine Spoons
Note that there are also items that we associate with drugs that are not legally considered drug paraphernalia. You should not face criminal charges for the possession of:
- Vaping Pens
- Marijuana Bongs
Individuals convicted of drug paraphernalia possession can be fined $1,000 and sent to jail for 6 months.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Fight Drug Crime Charges with a Drug Crimes Lawyer
Your future can depend on the choices you make after being charged with a drug crime. You can greatly increase your chances of winning your case by contacting a drug crimes lawyer in Burbank right away. The Simmrin Law Group can start building your defense today. We’ll go over your unique situation with a FREE consultation.