A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) in Commerce can result in harsh penalties. DUI charges can lead to fines, the suspension of your driver’s license, and jail time. These charges can be incredibly difficult to handle on your own, which is why it’s important that you get professional help after you are arrested.
You can begin working on a defense to DUI charges in Commerce today by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Let our DUI lawyers in Commerce take steps to get your charges reduced or dismissed. We can also begin working to defend you in the courtroom right now.
Defining DUI Charges in Commerce, CA
Driving under the influence can refer to the act of operating a motor vehicle in Commerce after:
- Consuming alcohol
- Taking some prescription medications
- Using illicit drugs
The state of California has set specific regulations regarding the amount of alcohol someone can consume before they are no longer legally allowed to operate a vehicle. Police officers may measure your blood alcohol content (BAC) to find out if you have exceeded this limit.
You should also be aware that there are many different charges used to prosecute DUIs. A criminal defense lawyer in Commerce can help you handle any of the many DUI charges that are used by the state court system.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Commerce, call (310) 896-2723
Focusing on BAC and DUI Charges in Commerce
Generally, drivers over the age of 21 in California must keep their BAC at or below 0.08% to avoid DUI charges. However, this is not the only BAC limit used in the state. You may need to keep your BAC at or below:
- 0.04% if you are a commercial driver
- 0.01% if you are a driver under 21
BAC can be measured using a number of chemical tests designed to gauge the level of alcohol in your system. The breathalyzer is one example of these tests. You may be asked to perform a breathalyzer test if you are stopped by a police officer in Commerce.
Note that you may be able to legally refuse this test in some situations. However, you can face a refusal enhancement to your charges if you do not comply with a test and you are:
- Legally arrested
- Under 21
- On DUI probation
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Reviewing the Penalties for Commerce DUIs
The court system throughout California can hand down harsh penalties to any drivers convicted of a DUI. These penalties can be complicated to understand because they do not always remain the same. In fact, the results of a conviction can grow more severe each time you are convicted.
You can consider some of the basic penalties for DUI convictions in Commerce right here:
First DUI Conviction Penalties
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- License suspension of up to one year
Second DUI Conviction Penalties
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Jail time of up to one year
- License suspension of up to two years
Third DUI Conviction Penalties
- Fines of up to $3,000
- Jail time of up to one year
- License suspension of up to three years
Building a Defense to Commerce DUI Charges
A traffic violations lawyer in Commerce can help you handle DUI charges. You can get help quickly after you are arrested by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group. This is important, as you should not discuss any aspect of your case until you have spoken to a criminal defense lawyer.
Everything you say to law enforcement officers and prosecutors can later be used against you. These individuals can turn your words against you as they work to secure a conviction. Make sure you have professionals on your side to protect your rights by working with a DUI lawyer in Commerce.
Your lawyer can also work to construct your defense quickly. You can rely on us to work to block or dispute evidence against you, including the results of chemical tests or field sobriety tests. Let us investigate your case as we work to:
- Get your charges reduced
- Ensure your charges are dismissed
- Defend you in and out of the courtroom
Take proactive steps to defend yourself from DUI charges in Commerce by reaching out to us now for professional legal assistance.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Commerce DUI Lawyer Can Help You Now
DUI charges in Commerce can be challenging to handle on your own. Make sure you’re ready to face these accusations head-on by contacting the Simmrin Law Group following your arrest. You can get information about your legal options now with a FREE initial case evaluation.
Speak with our DUI lawyers in Commerce by calling (310) 896-2723 or completing our online contact form.