Individuals charged with drug crimes in Compton can end up dealing with harsh legal repercussions. You can improve your odds of successfully avoiding jail time and high fines by contacting a drug crimes lawyer in Compton as soon as possible.
Getting professional help can mean the difference between winning and losing your case. The Simmrin Law Group can provide you with immediate advice about your situation. We’re ready to take on your case by fighting for you.
Compton’s Charges for Drug Possession
You can be charged with a drug crime anytime you are found in possession of certain illicit substances. California restricts a wide range of opiates, depressants, hallucinogens, and stimulants. These charges mean you can be arrested just for having certain painkillers, including hydrocodone and codeine.
Drug possession charges only apply if you are found with a drug you intend to use personally. While these charges are the least severe of the drug charges you could face in Compton, they still come with harsh penalties, including:
- Fines of $1,000
- 1 year of time in jail
Charges for drug possession can be difficult to understand because of the legal situation in California. In some cases, the court will use specific names for these charges, like:
- Possession of Meth
- Possession of Vicodin
Marijuana Possession in Compton
Your situation could also be complicated if you are found in possession of marijuana. The personal use of marijuana and concentrated cannabis have been largely decriminalized in Compton, but there are exceptions to this. For example:
- You are not allowed to have any form of marijuana if you are under 21
- You are only allowed to have 8 grams of concentrated cannabis if you are over 21
- You are only allowed to have 1 ounce of leaf marijuana if you are over 21
Likewise, you are permitted to legally grow 6 marijuana plants as part of marijuana cultivation. If you go above any of these limits, you can still face criminal charges for marijuana possession.
Criminal Charges for Possession for Sale
Compton uses the charge of possession for sale if you are found with certain amounts of an illicit substance. The court dictates that if you have more than a set amount of a drug, you must be planning to sell it to someone else. Because of this belief, you can be charged with possession for sale even if you are never seen selling a drug.
You may also be charged with intent to sell marijuana in Compton. While the personal use of marijuana is sometimes allowed, it is still illegal to sell marijuana, give marijuana away, and import or export marijuana.
A conviction for possession for sale comes with harsh penalties, including:
- Fines of $20,000
- 2-4 years of time in prison
You can fight any possession for sale or intent to sell marijuana charge by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Compton. You deserve to have professional help on your side when dealing with drug charges.
California’s Charges for Drug Trafficking
It can be hard to understand the differences between possession for sale and drug trafficking. In short, drug trafficking is a more severe charge that usually involves crossing state lines and multiple defendants. Drug trafficking is also more likely to be handled by the federal court system.
Drug trafficking requires individuals to create, own, or distribute illicit substances. You can face the following severe penalties for a drug trafficking conviction:
For a First Offense:
- Fines of $2-$5 million
- 5-40 years of time in prison
For a Second Offense:
- Fines of $4-$8 million
- 10 years to life of time in prison
Make sure you’re ready to face a federal prosecutor by working with a drug crimes lawyer. You can improve your odds of winning by giving your lawyer enough time to build a solid defense for your case.
Drug Paraphernalia and Criminal Charges
Some objects are associated with the use of illicit substances. We call these items drug paraphernalia. You can be charged with a criminal act if you are found to be in possession of drug paraphernalia, which can include:
- Crack Pipes
- Cocaine Spoons
- Some Needles
Individuals who are convicted of drug paraphernalia possession can face these penalties:
- Fines of $1,000
- 6 months of time in jail
Work with a Drug Crimes Lawyer to Build Your Case
You don’t have to stand up to drug crime charges on your own. Get professional help today by reaching out to a drug crimes lawyer in Compton. You can count on the legal advice offered by the Simmrin Law Group. We can start working on your unique case right away with one of our FREE consultations.
You can call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out our online form to start protecting yourself now.