The court system in Downey handles weapons charges very seriously. You could end up charged with a misdemeanor or even a felony if you use a weapon in an illegal way. Individuals who are convicted on a weapons charge often face fines and incarceration for months or years.
Dealing with a weapons charge on your own can be difficult due to California’s complicated legal codes. It’s easy to get overwhelmed by conflicting rules and confusing exceptions. You can get expert advice and legal guidance from a Downey criminal defense lawyer.
What to Expect from a Weapons Charge in Downey
Downey uses weapons charges to handle any misuse of weapons. Many of these charges deal strictly with firearms, but this is not universally the case. You might be charged with:
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
- Brandishing a Weapon
- Negligent Discharge
California’s “felon with a firearm” law also means you could face criminal charges simply for possessing a firearm in some circumstances. Weapons charges are generally handled as misdemeanors or felonies in the courtroom.
Successfully dealing with a weapons charge can be easier if you have experienced help on your side. The weapons charges lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group have a history of helping clients like you. Let us build your case and get you ready for your day in court.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Downey, call (310) 928-9347
Laws for Carrying a Weapon in Downey
Most individuals are not allowed to carry a weapon in public in Downey. You may be excepted from this rule if you have a concealed carry permit (CCP), but for the most part you will face criminal charges for:
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
The laws in Downey forbid you from carrying a concealed weapon on your person or in a vehicle without a special permit. You could face criminal charges if you are found with a concealed weapon. A conviction for carrying a concealed weapon can lead to $10,000 in fines and 3 years in jail.
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
While you are not allowed to carry a concealed weapon in Downey, you are also not allowed to openly carry a loaded firearm. Downey considers firearms to be:
- Antique Guns
You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for carrying a loaded firearm, even if the gun does not otherwise function. Dealing with a charge for carrying a weapon can be complicated by the laws in Downey. Get help today from a weapons charges lawyer.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Charges for the Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
Legally, you are only permitted to lease, sell, or otherwise change the ownership of a firearm in Downey if you have a license. If you take part in the unlicensed sale of firearms you can be charged with a misdemeanor and sentenced to 6 months in jail if you are convicted.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Downey’s Laws on Brandishing a Deadly Weapon
You can be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon if you take out or display a dangerous implement. You must be behaving in an angry, rude, or threatening way. Individuals who take out a deadly weapon during a fight or argument can also be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon.
The court system considers many objects to be deadly weapons. You can be charged with a crime for the use of:
- Baseball Bats
- Knives or Swords
- Incendiary Devices
You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for brandishing a deadly weapon. Individuals convicted of brandishing a deadly weapon can be sent to prison for 3 years.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Laws Against Negligent Discharge in Downey
Negligent discharge occurs when someone willfully fires a gun in a way that is grossly negligent and that could lead to someone else’s injury or death. Reckless behavior with a firearm can include actions like:
- Firing a Gun in the Air
- Shooting a Gun in a Residential Neighborhood
- Using a BB Gun in a Yard
You could be sentenced to 3 years of jail time and fined up to $10,000 if you are convicted of negligent discharge in Downey. A skilled weapons charges lawyer can help you make a case before you’re overwhelmed by legal penalties.
The Felon with a Firearm Law in Downey
The state of California has made it illegal for members of certain groups to possess a firearm. Specifically, convicted felons and narcotics addicts cannot legally own guns. This ruling was set out in the “felon with a firearm” law.
You may also be denied gun ownership if you are restricted by certain protective or restraining orders. If you are caught illegally possessing a gun you can be convicted and sent to jail for 3 years. You could also be fined $10,000.
Depending on your circumstances, you could also face federal gun charges. Some individuals can be charged in federal court if they are connected to an ongoing federal investigation or if they use a firearm in certain ways.
Fight for Your Future with a Weapons Charges Lawyer
A weapons charge can seem minor at first, but you could face serious repercussions if you are convicted. Building a case as soon as possible can improve your chances in court. The Simmrin Law Group has the experience you need to fight for your freedom. Take advantage of our FREE consultation to see what we can do for you.
You’ll be able to reach us by calling (310) 997-4688 or by filling out the contact form in the right hand sidebar.