Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol can lead to serious legal consequences in El Cajon, CA. The state of California comes down hard on driving under the influence (DUI) charges, even if no one is hurt.
You can end up facing years of incarceration, high fines, and the loss of your license if you are convicted of a DUI. Make sure you have professional help on your side after a DUI arrest by contacting the Simmrin Law Group today.
Our DUI lawyers in El Cajon can begin working on your defense right away. We can help you handle your criminal trial and your hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), so reach out to us today.
Types of DUI Charges in El Cajon
Many drivers in California are aware that the state prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above 0.08%. This is correct for non-commercial drivers over the age of 21. Other drivers may face charges if they operate a vehicle with a BAC of:
- 0.01% If They Are Under 21
- 0.04% If They Are Commercial Drivers
You may also face criminal charges for driving under the influence of drugs. Individuals in California can even be charged for riding a bicycle under the influence, if they are riding their bike on a public road.
All of these charges can have serious repercussions for your life. Make sure that you are ready to protect yourself from any DUI accusation by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in El Cajon right now.
Penalties for El Cajon DUI Convictions
You may be wondering what to expect after you are charged with a DUI. Generally, the legal penalties for a DUI conviction are very harsh. For a first time DUI conviction, you could face:
- Fines: Up to $2,000
- Jail Time: Up to 6 Months
- License Suspension: Up to 1 Year
These penalties will grow harsher if you are charged with additional DUIs. A second DUI charge can lead to:
- Fines: Up to $2,500
- Jail Time: Up to 1 Year
- License Suspension: Up to 2 Years
If you are charged with a DUI after injuring someone in an accident, the penalties can be even harsher. A conviction for DUI causing injury can result in:
- Fines: Up to $5,000
- Jail Time: Up to 4 Years
Your drivers license can be completely revoked for up to 5 years if you are convicted of injuring someone else while driving under the influence.
The Department of Motor Vehicles and License Suspensions
We have mentioned license suspensions several times in relation to DUI charges in El Cajon. The Department of Motor Vehicles has the power to suspend your license if you are charged with a DUI. In fact, your license can be suspended even if you are not convicted of a DUI in criminal court.
You must request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your DUI charge to prevent the automatic suspension of your license. The DUI lawyers at the Simmrin Law Group can help you handle your DUI hearing, along with your criminal case.
Getting Help from a DUI Lawyer in El Cajon
DUI charges can change your life. You can take control of your future by reaching out to a DUI lawyer as soon as you are charged. The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group can get to work right away by helping you handle questioning by police officers and prosecutors.
We can also dig into your case to begin working on your defense. Depending on your situation, we may be able to:
- Block Evidence Regarding Your BAC Level
- Secure You a Plea Bargain for Lessened Charges
- Win Your Case with a Not Guilty Verdict
You can also count on us to handle your DMV hearing to protect your driving privileges here in El Cajon. Taking DUI charges seriously can immediately increase the odds that you will build a successful defense. Make sure you have professional help on your side by contacting us as soon as you are accused of any DUI charge.
Speak with an El Cajon DUI Lawyer Now
You do not have to try to beat a DUI charge on your own. Get the legal advice you need to handle a DUI accusation by reaching out to a DUI lawyer in El Cajon immediately. The Simmrin Law Group has the experience to start working on your defense as soon as you complete our online contact form, or call (310) 997-4688.
Get a FREE case evaluation about your specific situation today.