You may hear the term “wet reckless” discussed if you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in California. This term is used informally in the court system in California to refer to charges frequently used in DUI plea bargains.
Find out more about wet reckless charges right here with the Simmrin Law Group. Go over the pros and cons of accepting a wet reckless plea bargain with legal professionals. You can also focus on some other charges associated with DUI plea bargains.
Wet Reckless Deals: The Basic Facts
Reckless driving is a criminal charge in the state of California. Technically, “wet” reckless charges are considered a form of reckless driving. However, you will not face wet reckless charges after you are arrested.
Wet reckless charges are only offered as part of a plea bargain in DUI cases. Additionally, if you accept a wet reckless plea bargain:
- A note will be added to your record indicating that your offense involved alcohol
- The wet reckless charge with be considered priorable
These consequences set wet reckless charges apart from general reckless driving convictions.
Wet Reckless Deals: The Pros
Accepting a wet reckless plea bargain can reduce the penalties you’d face if convicted of a DUI in the state of California. If you plead guilty to wet reckless charges, you could face:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to 90 days
- DUI school of up to six weeks
Compare these penalties with some common repercussions for a DUI conviction:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- License suspension of up to one year
Furthermore, the court will not issue a mandatory suspension of your license if you take a wet reckless deal. You will not be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID). However, you should be aware that your license could still be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Wet Reckless Deals: The Cons
Accepting a wet reckless plea bargain is not always in your best interests. Wet reckless charges are priorable in California. This means that, if you are arrested for a subsequent DUI offense, you will face increased penalties based upon the wet reckless charge on your record. The charge can remain for up to 10 years.
Additionally, wet reckless charges can:
- Increase your insurance premium or lead to the loss of your insurance
- Add two points onto your driver’s license in the state of California
As you can see, taking a wet reckless charge without carefully considering your options can have serious consequences for your life.
Wet Reckless Deals: The DMV
The DMV plays an important role in handling DUI accusations in California. If you are arrested for a DUI, the DMV has the ability to automatically suspend your license after 30 days. You have 10 days after your arrest to request a hearing to stop this automatic suspension.
Your DMV hearing can proceed even if you accept a wet reckless plea bargain. This means that the DMV can suspend your license. Make sure you handle your DMV hearing quickly by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles to get professional help.
Wet Reckless Deals: Alternative Plea Bargains
Wet reckless charges are not the only options offered by prosecutors in the court system in California. You may be able to secure more favorable charges by working with a DUI lawyer in Los Angeles. Your lawyer can work to gain leverage to negotiate with prosecutors.
In some cases, a lawyer can secure you “dry” reckless charges for a plea bargain. Dry reckless charges result in fines and a brief period of jail time. However, dry reckless charges are not considered priorable offenses, so they will not count against you if you are charged with another DUI.
Wet Reckless Deals: DUI Defenses
You should also be aware that accepting a plea bargain after a DUI arrest will not always be in your best interests. Based on your situation, your lawyer might be able to resolve your case by:
- Getting your charges dismissed
- Winning your case in court
A professional DUI lawyer can dig into the facts surrounding your arrest. Your lawyer might be able to show that you were stopped without reasonable cause, or that you were not actually operating your vehicle while inebriated. Find out more by contacting the Simmrin Law Group now.
Speak to a DUI Lawyer About Wet Reckless Charges
You can learn more about wet reckless charges from the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group. Speak to our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles today to get the assistance you need. Secure professional assistance by contacting us for a FREE consultation.
Call (310) 997-4688 or complete our online contact form to consider your options after a DUI arrest.