Were you convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California? Need to know if you can still buy alcohol if you have a DUI? Find the answers you’re looking for right here.
Can You Still Buy Alcohol If You Have A DUI?
You can face a number of serious consequences if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California. You could be fined, sent to jail, ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID), and more.
Many drivers aren’t entirely sure how strict DUI penalties are. You might even be wondering if you can still buy alcohol if you have a DUI. The Simmrin Law Group can help you review regulations on purchasing alcohol after a DUI right here. You can also call (310) 997-4688 to learn more about building a DUI defense after you are arrested.
DUI Probation and Buying Alcohol in California
So, can you still buy alcohol if you have a DUI in California? In truth, the answer to this question can be very complicated and it depends largely upon the terms of your DUI probation. Drivers convicted of even a first-time DUI in California may be placed on probation for three-to-five years.
While on probation, you must follow any regulations set forth by the California court system. Judges in DUI cases may order drivers:
- To refrain from drinking alcohol entirely
- To stay out of bars or other establishments that serve alcohol
Note that the above regulations are often not used in first-time DUI cases. However, they may be utilized at the judge’s discretion. In these cases, while you may not be directly ordered not to buy alcohol, the court intends to prevent you from drinking, or coming into contact with alcohol.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
Drunk Driving and DUI Probation Regulations
Some drivers may be able to buy and drink alcohol while on DUI probation. However, the court does not allow any drivers on DUI probation to drive while they are inebriated. You can face serious legal repercussions if you commit an additional DUI while on probation.
Note that DUIs are priorable offenses in California. This means that DUIs stay on your record for 10 years. Each DUI charge you face within this 10-year period will be punished more severely. For example, a first-time DUI conviction can result in:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- A license restriction for six months
A second DUI conviction, while you are on probation, could lead to:
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Jail time of up to one year
- A license restriction for one year
Make sure that you get professional help right away if you are arrested for a second DUI in California. You can speak to a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles now by calling (310) 997-4688.
Drivers on DUI Probation Must Keep their BAC Low
California expects drivers on DUI probation to keep their blood alcohol content (BAC) lower than other drivers. While most drivers over 21 have to keep their BAC below 0.08%, drivers on DUI probation need to maintain a BAC under 0.04%.
Additionally, all drivers on DUI probation are required to take a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test if they are stopped by a police officer. Refusal to take BAC tests can result in the immediate suspension of your driver’s license and additional penalties.
Note that, as of 2019, you will also likely have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle after a DUI conviction. You must use the IID each time you start your vehicle and at set intervals while you are driving. IIDs report any alcohol in your system, which can lead to additional legal penalties.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Expectations After You DUI Probation Ends
Thus far, we have discussed regulations you’ll face while on DUI probation in California. After your period of probation ends, you will no longer be required to adhere to probation requirements. This means you will be free to buy and consume alcohol.
However, your DUI will remain on your record for a full 10 years, even after your probation ends. This means you can still face increased penalties if you are convicted of a subsequent DUI. You should continue to avoid drinking and driving, even once your DUI probation period expires. Talk to a DUI accident lawyer in Burbank, CA to learn more about the consequences of repeat offenses.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Talk to a Lawyer About Buying Alcohol Following a DUI
You may be able to buy alcohol if you have a DUI in California. Generally, your ability to drink alcohol will depend upon the terms of your probation. The team at the Simmrin Law Group can help you understand your probation regulations, so you do not accidentally commit a probation violation. Contact us by calling (310) 997-4688 or filling out our online contact form.
You can also improve your odds of avoiding a DUI conviction by contacting our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles. Reach out to us after an arrest for a FREE case evaluation.