The court system does not always use the same amount of bail. However, the minimum recommended bail payment is often $50,000. Some drivers face a much higher bail payment. Get more information about California’s bail system with the Simmrin Law Group. Allow us to provide you with the answers you want. Just call (310) 997-4688.
Vehicular Manslaughter Charges in California
You should know that California does not use a single charge to prosecute vehicular manslaughter. In fact, there are several different charges used to handle this charge, including:
These charges vary in significant ways. However, the basic definition of vehicular manslaughter is consistent between these charges. Drivers face vehicular manslaughter charges for acting with negligence and:
- Committing an infraction, misdemeanor, or felony OR
- Committing a dangerous but lawful act THAT
- Causes something else to lose their life
Drivers can face vehicular manslaughter charges if they cause a fatal accident while under the influence of alcohol. They can also face vehicular manslaughter for accidents caused while they are sober.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
Bail Amounts for Vehicular Manslaughter in Los Angeles
The Superior Court of California has provided a schedule for bail payments for 2021. These bail amounts can vary based on whether an individual faces misdemeanor or felony charges. Vehicular manslaughter charges are “wobblers.” This means that they can be treated as misdemeanors OR felonies.
Felony bail amounts are generally higher. Generally, a bail payment of $50,000 is recommended for vehicular manslaughter charges. However, the court recommends a payment of $100,000 for drivers accused of:
- DUI vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence
- Vehicular manslaughter for financial gain
You should know that these bail payment amounts are only recommendations. Judges are permitted to change bail amounts depending on the facts of a unique charge. Additionally, some counties use different bail schedules. This bail schedule is for the court system in Los Angeles.
Get answers about bail for your specific situation by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles are prepared to offer you personalized assistance with your bail hearing. We can work to ensure you get the lowest possible bail amount. Just call our team at (310) 997-4688 so we can get started.
Effects of a Vehicular Manslaughter Conviction in California
A Los Angeles DUI lawyer can help if you are accused of vehicular manslaughter. This charge can lead to severe penalties. As we mentioned, some vehicular manslaughter cases are prosecuted as misdemeanors. These charges can lead to:
- Jail time of up to one year
- Fines of up to $1,000
However, many vehicular manslaughter charges are felonies. Felony convictions lead to more serious penalties in our area. Drivers convicted of a felony can face:
- Prison time of up to ten years
- Fines of up to $10,000
The court system can also revoke your driver’s license after a vehicular manslaughter conviction.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Get Help Handling a Vehicular Manslaughter Charge in Los Angeles
You can get legal help if you were accused of vehicular manslaughter in California. A lawyer can support you during your bail hearing. We’ll work to ensure you get a low bail payment so you can remain out of jail until your trial.
We’ll also review the facts of your case while building your defense. Our team can focus on getting your charges reduced or even dismissed. We know how to handle your case if you have to go to court and will do everything possible to secure a jury verdict in your favor. Allow us to handle your legal needs starting today.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Ask a Lawyer About Handling Bail for Vehicular Manslaughter
Bail for vehicular manslaughter cases in California can start at $50,000 and sometimes goes much higher. Find out more about bail payments with the Simmrin Law Group’s DUI lawyers in Los Angeles. We’ll start working on your case when you complete our online contact form. You can also call us at (310) 997-4688.
Don’t wait to get legal help after you’re charged with vehicular manslaughter. Contact us for a free consultation.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form