Repeat offenses for driving under the influence (DUI) are treated seriously in California. You face harsher penalties after a second DUI conviction in the state. What exactly happens after you get a second DUI in California?
You could face jail time and thousands of dollars in fines. The court may require you to install an ignition interlock device (IID). You may also face other penalties in this situation. Let’s dig into the results of a second DUI in California in more detail right now.
Your Fines Go Up for a Second DUI in California
The maximum fine for a first DUI in California is $2,000. This amount increases to $2,500 with a second DUI. You should be aware that these fines do not include all court fees and other expenses.
The amount of money you pay for a DUI could be much higher. Many judges are more likely to be harsher on someone with multiple DUIs on their record.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
You May Face Longer Jail Time for a Second DUI
The court in California may sentence you to jail time after a DUI conviction. Drivers with two DUIs may be sentenced to up to one year in jail. However, many DUI offenses do not result in jail time. You should be aware that you could spend time behind bars after a DUI arrest.
You Will Have to Install an IID After a Second DUI
The state of California recently began using IIDs for many DUI cases. An IID is a device that attaches to your motor vehicle. It functions as a personal breathalyzer. You must breathe into the device each time you want to start your vehicle. The IID prevents you from starting the vehicle if you have an elevated blood alcohol content (BAC).
The court may not always require drivers to use an IID after a first DUI. However, drivers convicted of a second DUI have to use an IID for one year. You must install an IID on:
- All vehicles you own.
- All vehicles you drive regularly.
It is against the law to operate a vehicle without an IID after a second DUI offense in most cases. You may choose not to drive after a DUI if you do not want to install an IID. There are also a few exceptions for IID usage. Some drivers have health conditions that prevent them from using an IID, for example.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
You Have a DMV Hearing After a Second DUI
Drivers charged with a DUI in California face legal issues in the court system. You may also be required to have a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Your DMV hearing is separate from your court case. However, it may result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
The DMV reserves the right to suspend your license after a DUI in California. You may take steps to prevent this suspension by requesting a hearing within 10 days of your arrest. Failure to ask for a hearing could result in a license suspension within 30 days.
Note that the DMV may not suspend your driving privileges if you installed an IID. Drivers convicted of two DUIs are expected to install an IID. Some drivers choose not to pursue a DMV hearing for a second DUI for this reason.
Drivers who are not convicted do not have to install an IID. The DMV could still suspend their license if they did not request their DMV hearing. Take this hearing seriously after a DUI arrest.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
You Can Get Legal Help After a Second DUI
You may not have to accept the penalties if you are charged with a second DUI in California. You may get legal help quickly by calling (310) 929-6503. A DUI lawyer could be able to review your case right away.
A DUI lawyer could get your charges reduced or even dismissed. Your lawyer may also build your defense, so you’re ready to go to court. Learn more about your options now.
Speak to a Lawyer About a Second DUI in California
Several things happen after a second DUI in California. The prosecutor could charge you with a crime. The court could sentence you to jail time and fine you. You may have to install an IID. Get help dealing with all these issues by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Reach out to us by calling (310) 929-6503. You may complete our online contact form.
Allow us to assess your case today with a free consultation.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form