Convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) in La Verne can result in serious penalties. Drivers who are accused of a DUI can face fines, jail time, and the suspension of their driver’s license. After a DUI arrest, you need professional help handling your criminal charges.
An experienced La Verne DUI lawyer at the Simmrin Law Group can provide you with the assistance you need right away. You can contact our DUI lawyers in La Verne immediately. We’ll focus on building your defense in order to successfully resolve the charges you are facing.
Criminal Charges For DUIs In La Verne
You could be arrested and charged with a DUI in La Verne if a law enforcement officer believes you are driving while inebriated. Depending upon the circumstances surrounding your arrest, you can face a number of different criminal charges. Your charges may vary based upon:
- Whether you are accused of consuming alcohol or taking drugs
- Your age at the time of your arrest
- Your measured blood alcohol content (BAC) level
- Whether or not you are a commercial driver
All DUI charges in California should be taken seriously, as convictions can have a tremendous impact on your life. Get specific advice about the charges you are facing by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in La Verne now.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving La Verne, call (310) 928-9347
The Severity Of La Verne DUI Charges
DUIs are prosecuted as misdemeanors or felonies in La Verne. Most DUI charges are handled as misdemeanors. However, prosecutors may seek felony charges if you:
- Have multiple prior DUIs on your record
- Are accused of harming someone while committing a DUI
Felony charges are prosecuted more harshly than misdemeanor charges in the court system. However, all DUI charges can result in fines, jail time, and the loss of your driver’s license. If you are accused of any type of DUI, get help from a DWI attorney in La Verne now.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Legal Penalties For DWIs In La Verne
We have mentioned that DUIs can result in severe penalties in La Verne. Let’s dig into the specific results of a DUI conviction now. You may face:
Fines for a La Verne DUI:
- Up to $2,000 for a first DUI
- Up to $2,500 for a second DUI
- Up to $3,000 for a third DUI
Potential Jail Time for a DUI:
- Up to six months for a first DUI
- Up to one year for a second or third DUI
License Suspension for a DWI in La Verne:
- Up to one year for a first DUI
- Up to two years for a second DUI
- Up to three years for a third DUI
La Verne DUIs Are Priorable
As you can see, the penalties for a DUI conviction grow more serious each time you are arrested. This occurs because California considers DUIs to be priorable offenses. A priorable offense remains on your record for a period of years, so if you commit another offense while the initial charge is on your record, it will count against you.
This allows the court system to increase the severity of each DUI conviction you receive. You should also be aware that some of the charges commonly used in DUI plea bargains are priorable.
For example, if you are offered “wet” reckless charges as part of a plea bargain, they will remain on your record. If you are arrested for another DUI, the previous wet reckless charges will increase your penalties.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Reducing DUI Charges In La Verne
In many cases in La Verne, DUI charges may be reduced to an acceptable level by your lawyer. Your lawyer can work to block evidence against you while gathering evidence to weaken the prosecution’s case.
In this situation, your DUI lawyer may advise you to take a plea bargain. These deals allow you to resolve DUI charges outside of court by pleading guilty to a different charge in exchange for reduced penalties.
However, not all plea bargains are a good idea. As we mentioned, some lead to priorable charges on your record. Make sure a La Verne DUI defense lawyer assesses any deal before you accept it.
Defenses For La Verne DUI Charges
Your DUI lawyer can also work to build a strong defense for the charges you are facing. Your lawyer could work to discredit the results of any BAC tests you received. The team at the Simmrin Law Group may even be able to show that you should never have been pulled over by a police officer.
Let us go over your unique legal situation so we can develop a defense for you. We’re ready to stand up for you in the courtroom, working to secure a verdict in your favor.
Can You Work With A Public Defender To Challenge Your DWI Charges In La Verne?
You have the option of choosing to have a public defender represent you against the DUI charges in La Verne or retaining a private criminal defense lawyer. There are many benefits to choosing a La Verne DUI defense attorney to advocate for your rights and freedom.
First, you have the opportunity to speak with your lawyer, obtain updates as to the status of your case, and play an active role in determining how to approach your defense strategy when you choose a private DWI attorney.
Unfortunately, many public defenders are overworked and overburdened by caseloads that they cannot handle. Can you trust your future to a legal advocate who is unable to give your defense the attention it deserves? We don’t think so.
Get Help From A La Verne DUI Attorney
The Simmrin Law Group is ready to take on DUI charges in La Verne for you. You can start working on your defense today by reaching out to us. Just call or fill out our online contact form to get professional help.
Our DUI attorneys in La Verne can offer you a FREE initial case evaluation today.