You can face charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in California if you consume alcohol and operate any motorized vehicle. This means that you can get a DUI in a boat in the state. Technically, you could be charged with Boating Under the Influence (BUI) in this situation.
Find out how the court system in California handles BUI charges with this article. Consider your options for building a BUI defense with the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group. Call us today at (310) 997-4688 to get professional legal assistance.
Understand Basic BUI Charges in California
BUIs in California are generally prosecuted under California Harbors & Navigation Code 655. According to this legal code, you can be charged with a BUI if you operate a boat while:
- You are impaired by alcohol
- You are impaired by drugs
- Your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at or above 0.08%
You should be aware that this BAC level matches the level used for DUI charges in California. Additionally, if you are under 21 you may be required to keep your BAC under 0.01% while operating a boat in order to avoid criminal charges.
Review Commercial BUI Charges in California
Individuals operating a commercial boat can also face charges for a BUI. In fact, you must keep your BAC lower if you are operating a commercial boat. Commercial boat operators must maintain a BAC under 0.04% to avoid criminal charges.
There are a number of commercial boats used throughout the state. Make sure you are aware of your BAC if you are operating a tour boat, fishing boat, or ferry. If you are accused of a commercial BUI you can get help today from a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles. Review your legal options by calling (310) 997-4688.
You Can Get a BUI on Many Kinds of Boats
You can face BUI charges if you are operating any motorized boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. You may face criminal charges for drinking before you operate a:
- Jet ski
- Sailboat using a motor
Note that BUI charges only apply to the use of motorized boats. This means that you should not be charged with a BUI if you are using a canoe or a kayak. However, you could be charged with being drunk in public, in some circumstances.
Results of a BUI Conviction in California
You can face harsh penalties if you are convicted of a BUI in California. In most situations, the state will prosecute BUIs in the same way they would handle a DUI. This means that a first-time BUI conviction can result in:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- Probation of up to five years
Your BUI conviction will also be considered priorable. You will face higher penalties if you are convicted of a subsequent BUI or DUI in California.
License Restrictions and a Conviction for a BUI
It is important that you understand that a BUI conviction can impact your driver’s license. In fact, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can automatically suspend your driver’s license after a BUI arrest. You have 10 days after your arrest to request a hearing regarding this suspension.
Your license may also be restricted by the court system if you are convicted of a BUI in California.
Get Legal Help with a BUI Accusation in California
The Simmrin Law Group can help you take on BUI charges in California. Our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles are prepared to help you with all aspects of your legal case. We may be able to demonstrate that:
- You were not actually impaired by alcohol
- You were arrested after officers made a mistake
- Your BAC test results were not valid
Getting professional assistance quickly can reduce the odds that you will be convicted of a BUI in California. You can take charge of your future by contacting us immediately. We may be able to get your charges reduced or dismissed. We’re also ready to help you handle BUI charges in court.
Talk to a Lawyer About a BUI Charge
You can get a DUI in a boat in California. This charge will be called a BUI. You can get help constructing a defense to BUI charges by contacting the Simmrin Law Group today. Allow our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles to start working on your case with a FREE initial case evaluation.
Get legal assistance quickly by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.