Sometimes, drivers in California receive either a temporary or a restricted license. These licenses are often used after arrests for driving under the influence (DUI). How long does a temporary or restricted license last in California?
A temporary license lasts no more than 30 days. Generally, the countdown starts at the date of a driver’s arrest. A restricted license can last longer, depending upon the underlying charges that led to the restriction. Review these licenses in greater detail by calling (310) 997-4688 to speak with us at the Simmrin Law Group.
Information Regarding Temporary Licenses in California
Drivers in California can receive both a temporary and a restricted license. These licenses are given to drivers after a DUI arrest in California. Drivers get these licenses from either:
- The officer who charged them with a DUI OR
- The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
The DMV mails temporary licenses through the mail in some cases. Drivers can use these licenses for up to 30 days from the time of their arrest. These licenses expire after 30 days. After they expire, they are no longer valid.
Find Out More About Restricted Licenses in Los Angeles
Sometimes, drivers get a restricted license before or after their temporary license runs out. A restricted license allows drivers to continue operating their vehicle, sometimes even after a conviction for a DUI. Restricted licenses do not always last for the same amount of time.
For example, drivers with a first-time DUI may need a restricted license for six months. The amount of time you need a restricted license increases with each subsequent DUI conviction. Drivers may need a restricted license for:
- One year after a second DUI arrest
- Two years for a third DUI arrest
- Three years for subsequent DUI arrests
Sometimes drivers need to use a restricted license for a lengthy period of time in California. After drivers are no longer required to use a restricted license, they can reapply for a “normal” license from the DMV.
Facts About Restricted Licenses in California
You may wonder what a restricted license does in California. These licenses allow drivers to legally operate a vehicle even after a DUI conviction. Previously, the state used to suspend your license after a DUI conviction.
However, the state recently adopted an ignition interlock device (IID) program. This program allows drivers to continue operating a vehicle if they install an IID on their vehicle after a DUI conviction. Drivers have to test their blood alcohol content (BAC) with the IID each time they want to drive.
Drivers can get an IID-restricted license by providing the DMV with proof that they have an IID on their vehicle. Individuals in our state have to visit approved IID installation companies to get an IID placed on their vehicle.
Driving a vehicle without an IID can have serious legal impacts here in California. Drivers who try to get around or tamper with an IID can end up losing their IID-restricted license. In this situation, they could end up facing a license suspension. Find out more by calling our legal team at (310) 997-4688. The Simmrin Law Group’s DUI lawyers in Los Angeles are here to help you.
Avoid a License Suspension or Restriction After a DUI Arrest
The DMV has the legal right to automatically suspend your driver’s license after a DUI arrest. This happens 30 days after a DUI arrest. However, you can dispute this by requesting a DMV hearing.
You only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing after your arrest. A lawyer can step in to request this hearing for you and, in some cases, can stop the DMV from suspending your license. This means you may not need a restricted license. Our team can help you after a DUI arrest by:
- Dealing with the DMV
- Investigating your arrest
- Working to dispute evidence
- Negotiating with the prosecution for you
- Standing up for you in court
We are ready to protect your driving privileges here in California. We’ll also take steps to help you avoid a conviction, jail time, and high fines.
Find Out How Long a Temporary or Restricted License Lasts in California
Want to know how long a temporary or restricted license will last in California? A temporary license lasts no more than 30 days. Some drivers need to use a restricted license for three years. Find out more about your driving privileges after a DUI arrest with the Simmrin Law Group. Contact us and get a free consultation.
Call (310) 997-4688 or complete our online contact form to start getting help. Our Los Angeles DUI team is standing by to help you.