You may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) into your vehicle if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California. These devices are a type of breathalyzer and they can measure your blood alcohol content (BAC) before allowing you to operate your vehicle.
You may have many questions about the installation of a breathalyzer in your car. Many drivers wonder how much the installation will cost. Generally, you can expect to pay fees of $75 – $100 for the initial installation.
Find out more about additional costs associated with IIDs, the functions of this machine, and the reasons you might need to install a breathalyzer in your vehicle right now with the Simmrin Law Group.
Overall Costs for the Use of IIDs in California
As we mentioned, you will likely need to pay around $75 – $100 for the installation of your IID. However, you should be aware that this will not be the only cost associated with the use of an in-vehicle breathalyzer. You will also have to pay:
- Monthly fees that average around $70 – $100
- Fees every 60 days for calibration and maintenance
These costs will be ongoing throughout the entire time you are legally required to keep an IID installed in your vehicle.
IIDs Can Remain in Your Vehicle for a Long Time
You could be ordered by the court to keep an IID in your vehicle for a lengthy period of time. The exact amount of time will be decided by the judge in your court case. In many cases, the court will require you to use an IID for:
- Up to six months for first-time offenses if no one was hurt
- Up to 12 months for a second DUI conviction
- Up to 24 months for a third DUI conviction
- Up to 36 months for a fourth or subsequent DUI conviction
You will have to pay monthly fees and maintenance costs throughout this period. This can increase the costs of having a breathalyzer for thousands of dollars.
Charges That Require You to Install a Breathalyzer
Not all DUI convictions will require you to install a breathalyzer in your vehicle. You may be ordered to install one of these devices if you:
- Are facing a first-time DUI conviction
- Refused to submit to a legally requested chemical or breath test for the first time
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), there are some charges that will always require you to install an IID. If you are convicted for multiple DUIs or for a DUI causing injury you will be legally required to place an IID in your vehicle before you can legally drive.
Functions of an IID in Your Vehicle
IIDs are designed to measure your BAC before you are allowed to operate your vehicle. In fact, your vehicle will not start until you have blown into the IID and had your BAC assessed once these devices are installed.
Additionally, the IID in your vehicle will require you to provide random samples as you operate your vehicle. Generally, these samples must be provided around every 45 minutes.
Some drivers worry that if they fail a random test that their vehicle will stop in the middle of the road. IID devices will not shut down your vehicle automatically, as this could endanger other drivers. Instead, the device will report a “fail” to the court.
Criminal Charges Associated with Breathalyzers in California
In-vehicle breathalyzers are designed to monitor the BAC of an individual convicted of a DUI. Drivers who attempt to get around their IID by having someone else perform the test can face additional criminal charges.
IIDs are designed to assess the breadth pattern of their users. They also have very short cords, to prevent other passengers in the vehicle from submitting a fraudulent test.
Get Legal Help with Breathalyzer Installation
Installing a breathalyzer and paying for upkeep can turn into an expensive proposition. Repeating the test every time you drive your vehicle can quickly become frustrating. You may be able to avoid the requirement to install an IID if you work with a DUI lawyer in Los Angeles quickly after a DUI arrest.
The team at the Simmrin Law Group can work to defend you from DUI charges. Our criminal defense lawyers in Los Angeles may be able to resolve the charges you’re facing in your favor. In some cases, we can even get your charges reduced or dismissed, allowing you to move forward with your day-to-day life. Call (310) 997-4688 or fill out our online contact form to learn more with a FREE initial case evaluation.