The court may place you on probation if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California. Drivers on probation must adhere to certain regulations handed down by the court. This often includes an order not to drink alcohol before operating a motor vehicle.
So, what happens if you get a DUI while you’re on probation? You may violate the terms of your probation. You may also face another DUI charge. You could face fines, jail time, and other penalties if you’re convicted. Find out more about the results of a second DUI right here.
Learn More About California Probation Violations
Probation is a common penalty for DUI convictions in California. Drivers may go on probation instead of going to jail after a conviction. However, drivers on probation may not do whatever they want. While you’re on probation, you have to obey all the rules set forth by the court.
Failure to obey court orders is considered a probation violation. You could face a number of repercussions if you violate your probation. Depending upon your situation, the court may decide to:
- Add additional rules to your conditions of probation
- Extend the amount of time you are on probation
- Revoke your probation and send you to jail
Note that drivers on probation for a DUI are generally not allowed to drink any alcohol before they drive. This means that you could violate your probation even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) does not exceed the legal limit. You could face a probation violation without facing DUI charges in some cases.
Review the Results of a Second DUI Conviction in California
It is always against the law to drive while impaired by alcohol or drugs. It does not matter whether you are on probation or not. You likely will face criminal charges if your BAC is over the legal limit. Additionally, all DUIs in California are priorable. This means you face harsher penalties for a second DUI offense. For example, a first DUI may result in:
- Jail time of up to six months
- Use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to six months
- DUI school for up to nine months
A second DUI, on the other hand, may leave you facing:
- Jail time of up to one year
- Use of an IID for up to one year
- DUI school for up to 30 months
The court may charge both first and second DUIs under California Vehicle Code Section 23152. You can get help handling the charges for a DUI. Just contact a DUI lawyer in California. A lawyer can help whether you are charged with a first or second DUI.
Start working on your defense right now by calling (310) 997-4688. Get legal assistance on your side as soon as possible.
Your Second DUI Stays on Your Record in California
All DUIs in California are priorable offenses. Your second DUI conviction will end up staying on your record for 10 years. The same is true of your first DUI conviction. These charges remain on both your criminal and your driving record.
You can work to get the charge expunged from your criminal record. Expunging a charge may ensure that it does not show up on background checks. However, expungement does not remove a DUI from your driving record. It still counts against you if you face additional DUI charges in California.
Get Legal Help If You Get a DUI on Probation
You may want to get legal assistance if you get arrested for a DUI while you’re on probation. A lawyer can help you handle your criminal charges as well as your probation violation charges. A lawyer could take steps to show that you:
- Were not actually driving under the influence
- Were stopped without reasonable cause
- Were given tests that returned inaccurate results
A lawyer may help you get your charges dismissed or reduced. This could help you avoid charges for a probation violation. Your lawyer can also stand up for you in court here in California.
Speak to a Lawyer for a DUI Charge During Your Probation
What happens if you get a DUI on probation in California? You may face criminal charges for a DUI and for a probation violation. You may end up fined and sent to jail. Take steps to handle these charges with a DUI lawyer in California. Reach out to the Simmrin Law Group to get assistance today. You can speak with a member of our team to get a free consultation.
Find out more by calling (310) 997-4688. You can also complete our online contact form.