What is vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence in California? It’s a criminal offense that occurs when a driver causes a fatal accident while demonstrating gross negligence. The state uses Penal Code §192(c)(1) to prosecute this action.
Drivers can face misdemeanor or felony charges for vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence. A conviction can lead to fines, incarceration, and other penalties. Discuss these charges with the Simmrin Law Group now by calling (310) 997-4688. We’re ready to take on your case right away.
Defining Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence
Vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence is an example of a criminal charge here in California. Drivers should only face PC 192(c)(1) charges if they are accused of operating a vehicle and:
- Carrying out an infraction, misdemeanor, or felony OR
- Performing a lawful act in a way that is dangerous WHILE
- Demonstrating gross negligence AND
- Causing an accident that results in a fatality
There are many possible dangerous acts drivers can perform while operating a vehicle. For example, a driver could exceed the speed limit. This is against the law in the state of California. Many drivers have a more difficult time understanding the definition of “gross negligence.”
Gross negligence occurs when drivers show a complete disregard for the health or well-being of others. Drivers show gross negligence if they take an action they know could cause a great bodily injury or death. For example, driving intentionally on a sidewalk may show gross negligence.
Finally, PC §192(c)(1) charges only apply if a driver causes an accident that results in a fatality.
Other Vehicular Manslaughter Charges in California
PC 192(c)(1) is only one example of a vehicular manslaughter charge in California. The state uses several other charges similar to vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence. These charges include:
- Penal Code §191.5(a)
- Penal Code §191.5(b)
- Penal Code §192(c)
- Penal Code §192(c)(3)
All of these criminal charges are very serious. They can result in fines and other legal penalties. A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help you learn more about how to fight each specific accusation. Call us at (310) 997-4688 and get help from the Simmrin Law Group today.
Convictions for Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence
PC §192(c)(1) is considered a “wobbler” in California. This means drivers can face either misdemeanor or felony charges for this action. The results of a conviction vary based on the severity of the charge. The outcomes for a misdemeanor conviction, for instance, can lead to:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to one year
Felony charges are more serious in the state of California. Drivers convicted of a felony can face:
- Fines of up to $10,000
- Prison time of up to six years
Some drivers in California are offered probation after a vehicular manslaughter conviction. While on probation, drivers have to obey all orders issued by the court. Failure to follow these regulations can lead to a probation violation. Probation violations can lead to incarceration and other penalties here in Los Angeles.
Defenses for Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence Charges
Our legal team can help if you are accused of vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence in California. We’ll help you build a defense right away. Our team can review your case and work to block evidence against you. We can show that:
- You did not cause a motor vehicle accident
- You did not display gross negligence
- You did not perform an illegal or dangerous act
If applicable, our team can work to show that someone else caused a fatal accident in Los Angeles. We’ll work to get your charges reduced. In some cases, the court can even dismiss your charges after you are accused of vehicular manslaughter, allowing you to move on with your life.
You can rely on us if your case goes to court. We know how to deal with prosecutors and will stand up for you every step of the way.
Ask a Lawyer About Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence
Vehicular manslaughter with gross negligence is a criminal charge in California. The court uses Penal Code §192(c)(1) to prosecute this crime. The Simmrin Law Group can step in to help you handle PC §191(c)(1) charges. Our traffic violation lawyers in Los Angeles are ready to assist with your defense. Find out how with a free consultation.
Easily reach us by calling (310) 997-4688. You can also fill out our online contact form.