Many drivers in California wonder about the differences between “dry” reckless and “wet” reckless charges. How do these charges compare to one another? Both dry and wet reckless charges lead to the same penalties. However, wet reckless charges are “priorable” and dry reckless charges are not.
Learn more about the effects of dry and wet reckless charges right here. Find out how these charges are tied to driving under the influence (DUI) accusations in California.
Information About Dry Reckless Charges
Dry reckless charges are prosecuted under California Vehicle Code Section 23103. The court also calls this charge “reckless driving.” You could face reckless driving charges anytime you operate your vehicle in a hazardous way. This could include:
- Swerving across lanes of traffic
- Exceeding the speed limit
- Passing other vehicles illegally
Reckless driving charges are also used as part of DUI plea bargains in some cases. You must accept these charges in order to get the plea deal. This means that you will have a conviction for reckless driving on your record.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 928-9347
Facts About Wet Reckless Charges in California
Wet reckless charges are used specifically in DUI plea bargains in California. They are not standalone charges. You will not be arrested and charged with wet reckless. This sets wet reckless charges apart from reckless driving.
The court system uses Vehicle Code Section 23103.5 to prosecute wet reckless charges. You should know that wet reckless charges are priorable, like other DUI charges. This means they’ll stay on your driving record. Prior convictions increase the penalties you face for subsequent arrests.
Speak with a DUI lawyer to learn more about wet reckless charges in California. Find out more about these charges by calling (310) 997-4688.
Penalties for Dry and Wet Reckless Convictions
Dry and wet reckless charges in California come with the same general penalties. Drivers who accept a plea bargain that includes these charges could face:
- Up to 90 days of jail time
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Up to two years of probation
You may want to compare this to the penalties for a DUI conviction. A first-time DUI conviction in California could result in six months of jail time and high fines. Drivers convicted of a DUI may also need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicle.
IIDs are like personal breathalyzer devices. They measure your blood alcohol content (BAC) each time you try to turn on your vehicle. They prevent you from operating your vehicle if your BAC is high. You may also need to attend DUI classes after a DUI conviction.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Plea Bargains and DUI Charges in California
Both dry and wet reckless charges can be used as part of a DUI plea bargain in California. The prosecution often pushes for a wet reckless plea bargain, as this charge is priorable. A lawyer will work to secure you a dry reckless plea bargain, instead.
Note that you get a conviction on your record if you accept a plea bargain. Technically, you are admitting guilt for a criminal charge each time you take a plea deal. The charge shows up on your criminal record.
However, plea bargains are still recommended in many DUI cases. It’s often a good idea to have a lawyer look over these deals before you accept them.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Your Options to Handle DUI Charges in California
As we mentioned, you will accept a plea bargain to resolve DUI accusations in California. Your lawyer will take steps to get your charges dismissed by focusing on blocking evidence against you in this situation.
A lawyer can get evidence blocked if it was not collected properly. Sometimes, law enforcement officers violate your rights during or after a DUI arrest. Evidence collected after a violation of your rights may not be permitted in court.
Your lawyer will also stand up for you in front of a judge and jury. Some DUI charges go all the way to court, where a lawyer will work to bring you a not guilty verdict. You have multiple options available if you were charged with a DUI in the state of California.
Discuss Dry Reckless vs. Wet Reckless Charges Today
Dry reckless and wet reckless charges are similar; however, wet reckless charges are priorable. This means they can impact you if you face subsequent DUI charges. Discuss these charges in more detail with the Simmrin Law Group. Reach out to a DUI lawyer in California and speak with us for a free consultation.
Call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out our online contact form.