The state of California increases the penalties you face after each conviction for driving under the influence (DUI). What happens after you get a third DUI? You may have to:
Review the possible outcomes of a third DUI conviction in more detail right here. Note that DUI charges do eventually fall off of your record. This article addresses what happens when you get a third DUI within 10 years of your first DUI conviction.
Fines and Jail Time for a Third DUI Conviction
Drivers convicted of a third DUI may face high fines. You could receive fines up to $3,000 if you are convicted of three DUIs in the state of California. There may also be other costs associated with a DUI conviction. For example, you may have to pay to have an IID installed in your vehicle. You also have to pay operating costs for this device.
If you are convicted of a third DUI in California, you may also face one year in jail. Most of the time, the court does not sentence you to a maximum jail term for a DUI offense. However, you could spend a minimum of 120 days behind bars following a conviction.
Drivers Are Expected to Install an IID After a Third DUI
IIDs are devices used to monitor your blood alcohol content (BAC) before you operate your vehicle. An IID attaches to your steering column. You breathe into it each time you want to start your car. IIDs only allow ignition if your BAC is under the legal limit.
Courts usually order driver convicted of three DUIs in California to install an IID. You may have to keep an IID on your vehicle for two years. You face additional consequences if you refuse to install an IID. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may suspend your license for three years if you do not use an IID.
Many drivers have concerns about installing an IID. However, these devices may lower your odds of getting additional DUIs. They prevent your vehicle from turning on if you have an elevated BAC, reducing the odds of a DUI arrest. You may learn more about IIDs by contacting a DUI lawyer at (310) 929-6503.
You May Attend DUI School After a Third DUI
The court often focuses on providing education after convicting a driver of a DUI. You may be required to attend DUI school after your conviction. You may be familiar with DUI school from previous convictions. Drivers with:
- One DUI attend DUI school for three to nine months.
- Two DUIs attend DUI school for 18 or 30 months.
You may need to go to DUI school for 30 months after a third DUI. Generally, you may not avoid DUI school following a DUI conviction in California, especially if you have multiple DUIs on your record.
Legal Options to Handle a Third DUI Charge in California
You may want to get legal help if you are charged with a third DUI in California. The court system may be harsher on drivers who have multiple past DUIs. Fortunately, you may get help on your side by reaching out to a DUI lawyer in California.
A lawyer may be able to dispute your charges. Your lawyer could work to show that you were pulled over by a police officer without due cause —this could result in the court dismissing your charges. You may move forward with your life freely if your charges are dismissed.
Your lawyer could also negotiate with the prosecution for you. A lawyer may work to get your charges reduced through a plea bargain. However, it grows more challenging to get charges reduced with each DUI conviction.
Finally, a legal team could work to defend you in court. Your lawyer may work to show that your BAC was not actually over the legal limit. A lawyer may also work to show that the tests used to measure your BAC were inaccurate or faulty.
Contact a Lawyer to Learn More About a Third DUI
You may face harsh penalties after a third DUI in California. You could be fined and sent to jail. You may have to attend DUI school and install an IID in your vehicle. Get help successfully resolving a third DUI charge by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Reach out to us today to get a free consultation.
We are ready to help you. Complete our online contact form now. You may also reach us at (310) 929-6503.