The court may charge you with driving under the influence (DUI) in California more than once. You could face multiple arrests for this crime throughout your life. What happens if you get multiple DUIs in California?
The truth is that DUIs are priorable offenses — this means that you may face harsher penalties for each DUI. However, the penalties you face often depend upon how long ago your previous DUI occurred. Find out more about the results of getting multiple DUIs now.
Get the Basics About DUI Charges in California
Drivers in California could face DUI charges anytime their blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit. The state of California uses the following BAC limits for different drivers. If you are:
- A non-commercial driver over 21, you must keep your BAC under 0.08%.
- A commercial driver over 21, you must keep your BAC under 0.04%.
- A driver under 21, you must keep your BAC under 0.01%.
However, a police officer could charge you with a DUI even if your BAC is under the legal limit — this is because alcohol affects everyone differently. Some drivers may drive unsafely even if their BAC is relatively low.
Additionally, all DUIs are considered priorable in California, which means they stay on your criminal record indefinitely. They remain on your driving record for 10 years. Each time you are convicted of a subsequent DUI within 10 years, you face harsher penalties.
Jail Time for Multiple DUIs in California
You may face up to six months of jail time for a first DUI conviction in California. However, most of the time, the court does not give first-time DUI offenders a lot of time behind bars. This changes if you are convicted of subsequent DUIs.
The court may sentence you to up to one year in jail for both a second and a third DUI. You also face a minimum of:
- Ninety-six hours in jail for a second DUI.
- One hundred twenty days in jail for a third DUI
Note that we are only discussing “simple” DUIs at this point, meaning the DUIs did not result in an injury or a death. If you are accused of injuring or killing someone, you may face a much lengthier period of incarceration.
Furthermore, a fourth “simple” DUI charge is often prosecuted as a felony. A felony DUI charge could result in three years in prison. Finally, you should be aware that some counties use harsher penalties for a DUI conviction. You may face a longer period of jail time, depending upon where you live. Discuss your specific situation by calling (310) 929-6503.
Driving Restrictions for Multiple DUIs in California
The state of California recently instituted an ignition interlock device (IID) program for drivers convicted of DUIs. The court may only sometimes order you to install an IID after a first DUI. Subsequent DUI convictions require you to use an IID for:
- One year for a second simple DUI.
- Two years for a third simple DUI.
- Five years for a felony DUI.
You may refuse to install an IID in your vehicle. However, this results in the suspension of your driver’s license. Many drivers choose to install an IID so they can continue operating their vehicle after a DUI conviction.
DUI School Requirements for Multiple DUIs
The court may require you to attend DUI school for up to nine months for a first-time DUI conviction. Subsequent convictions could lead to up to 30 months of DUI school. The court handles decisions regarding how long you must attend DUI school.
Note that it may also prove more challenging to resolve DUI charges after a second arrest. The court may deal more harshly with individuals arrested for multiple DUIs. A lawyer could help build your defense in this situation.
Your lawyer could work to get a first or subsequent DUI charge dismissed for you. In some cases, lawyers take steps to get DUI charges reduced. Your lawyer may also stand up for you in court here in California. Find out more by contacting a legal team today.
Review the Results of Getting Multiple DUIs in California
All DUIs in California are priorable offenses, so you face harsh penalties if you get multiple DUIs. You may face a lengthy jail sentence, restrictions on your license, and other repercussions. Get help dealing with any DUI charge by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. You may reach out to us for a free consultation.
Complete our online contact form to get help. You may also call us at (310) 929-6503.