It’s important that you get legal help on your side right away if you are accused of a violent crime in Oceanside. Prosecutors can work aggressively to secure a conviction if you are accused of assault, battery, or murder.
Fortunately, you can get the professional assistance you need from the Simmrin Law Group. Let us start building a strong defense for your charges right now. Our violent crime lawyers in Oceanside can take steps to favorably resolve the charges you dealing with right now.
Types of Violent Crime Charges in Oceanside
There are a number of different charges used to prosecute violent crimes in Oceanside. These charges are often broken down into separate categories. For example, you could be charged with a form of:
- Domestic violence
Each of these charges are handled slightly differently by the courts. They have unique penalties and must be treated differently by your criminal defense lawyer in Oceanside. The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group understand how to handle all violent crimes charges in the court system.
Comparing Assault and Battery in Oceanside
Assault and battery are often discussed together in legal circles. However, these charges are used to prosecute different criminal acts. Let’s go over their differences right now.
The Facts about Assault
Assault charges in Oceanside are used to prosecute individuals who attempt to use force on another person. You can be convicted of assault even if you do not harm another person. There are numerous charges used to prosecute assault, including:
- Simple assault
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault with a firearm
The Facts about Battery
Unlike assault, you should only be charged with battery if you actually touched another person in a way that is offensive or harmful. This sets battery charges apart from assault accusations. If you are accused of battery, you could be charged with:
- Simple battery
- Battery on a peace or police officer
- Battery causing serious bodily injury
Penalties for Assault and Battery
You could face misdemeanor or felony charges if you are accused of assault or battery in Oceanside. The penalties for these charges are very similar. Misdemeanor convictions can result in:
- Fines of up to $1,000 for assault
- Fines of up to $2,000 for battery
- Jail time of up to six months
A felony conviction can have more serious impacts on your life. You could be sentenced to:
- Fines of up to $10,000
- Prison time of up to four years
These penalties could apply to either an assault or a battery conviction in Oceanside.
Focusing on Domestic Violence in Oceanside
Acts of violence against family members – including current or previous romantic partners – can be considered domestic violence in Oceanside. Note that the court system does not have a dedicated charge to handle domestic violence cases. Instead, you could be charged with:
- Domestic battery
- Corporal injury on a spouse
- Child abuse
These are only examples of the charges used to prosecute domestic violence in California. A legal professional can help you handle any domestic violence charges, so reach out to the Simmrin Law Group immediately after an arrest.
Considering Murder Charges in Oceanside
The act of murder is considered one of the most serious crimes a person can commit in Oceanside. The court defines murder as intentionally taking the life of someone else. You could face two major charges if you are accused of murder in California:
Charges of first-degree murder only apply if someone kills another person after they planned out their actions. First-degree murder is one of the most harshly punished criminal acts in Oceanside. You could even be subjected to the death penalty if you are convicted of first-degree murder.
Second-degree murder is not considered quite as serious as first-degree murder. Individuals who commit murder without premeditating their actions can be charged with second-degree murder and they may be sentenced to life in prison if they are convicted.
All murder charges must be treated very seriously, as the results of a conviction can impact the rest of your life. Get the assistance you need today by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Oceanside.
An Oceanside Violent Crimes Lawyer Can Help You Today
You don’t have to try to handle a violent crimes charge in Oceanside on your own. The Simmrin Law Group is standing by to begin working on your defense right now. You can begin building your case by calling (310) 997-4688 or completing our online contact form.
Start getting the legal advice you need with a FREE initial case evaluation from our violent crimes lawyers in Oceanside.