A charge for driving under the influence (DUI) in Pasadena could have serious repercussions for your life. You could end up facing high fines, probation, the suspension of your license, and even jail time if you are convicted of a DUI.
Don’t leave your future to chance. Working with an experienced DUI Lawyer from Pasadena can improve your odds of success in the courtroom. You can count of the Simmrin Law Group to provide you with expert advice backed by years of experience helping clients just like you.
Fight Traffic Violation and DUI Charges
The court system in Pasadena treats DUIs and other traffic violation charges very seriously. You could be penalized for a wide range of traffic infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies in the state of California. Some common traffic violation charges include:
- Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
- Reckless Driving
Traffic violations can lead to fines and jail time if you are convicted. Each traffic violation will also add points to your license. If you accrue a specific number of points in a certain amount of time it will cause your license to be suspended. You can earn a suspension if you get:
- 4 points in 1 year.
- 6 points in 2 years.
- 8 points in 3 years.
You don’t have to face legal threats to your license, money, or freedom alone. Get help building your defense from an expert criminal defense lawyer in Pasadena.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Pasadena, call (310) 928-9347
Pasadena’s DUI Charges
The state of California can charge you with a DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above a certain level. This level varies based on your age. If you are over 21, you cannot drive with a BAC of 0.08% or higher. Individuals who are younger than 21 are not legally permitted to drive if their BAC is even 0.01%.
You can face serious repercussions if convicted of a DUI. You could have your license suspended, be forced to pay high fines, or even be sent to jail. The penalties for a DUI conviction grow more severe each time you are charged.
Be aware that you cannot avoid a DUI charge by refusing to take a chemical test if you are pulled over. Chemical tests are used by law enforcement officers to measure you BAC. If you refuse to complete the test, your license will be automatically suspended and you will face a fine.
It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by a DUI charge, but you don’t have to face this legal battle alone. You can find the help you need by contacting a skilled DUI lawyer in Pasadena right away.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
General Traffic Infractions and Red Light Cameras
The legal system uses traffic infractions to punish minor actions that are not serious enough to be considered criminal offenses. Traffic infractions can include things like:
- Driving Without Insurance
- Running a Stop Sign
- Misusing a Carpool Lane
Police officers will generally pull you over and give you a ticket for a traffic infraction. You may also get a ticket from a red light camera in the Pasadena area. You must treat any ticket from a red light camera seriously, as ignoring it can lead to serious penalties.
You could face up to $450 in fines for a traffic infraction. In some cases, your car could be impounded. In general, you will have one point added to your license for each traffic infraction. If you are found guilty of too many traffic infractions you could even end up losing your license completely.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Pasadena
You are only legally permitted to drive your car in Pasadena if your license is in good standing. If you drive with a license that has been suspended or revoked for any reason, you can face criminal misdemeanor charges in the court system.
The court system will determine a punishment based on the original reason for the suspension or revocation of your license. You could be forced to pay fines of $1,000 and you could even be sent to jail for 6 months if you are convicted of driving on a license that is suspended or revoked.
Because driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor, you will also have two points added to your license with a conviction.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Reckless Driving Charges in California
The state of California defines reckless driving very broadly. You can be accused of this misdemeanor for any action that willfully disregards the safety of others while driving a motor vehicle. Charges of reckless driving have been brought against individuals for:
- Excessive Speeding
- Swerving Across Lanes
- Driving on Sidewalks
- Daredevil Behavior
Pasadena treats reckless driving as a misdemeanor criminal act, which means you can have 2 points added to your license if you are convicted. A reckless driving conviction can also lead to jail time and fines of up to $1,000.
Fight for Your Future in Pasadena
Dealing with traffic violations can take tremendous amounts of time and effort. Let the Simmrin Law Group help you build a case to protect you from fines, jail time, and the loss of your license. Our traffic violation and DUI lawyers understand the Pasadena court system. We’ll help you with every step of your legal battle, starting by offering you a FREE consultation to discuss your case. Get started right away by calling us at (310) 997-4688 or by filling out the form on the right.