The legal system in Pasadena is designed to deal harshly with individuals charged with a violent crime. Violent crimes are generally charged as misdemeanors or felonies. You could face years in prison or jail and high fines if convicted of assault, battery, or murder.
The severity of a violent crimes charge makes building a defense difficult. You can get help from a highly-trained violent crimes lawyer in Pasadena. Take advantage of the experience and skill of the lawyers working at the Simmrin Law Group as you fight for your future.
Protect Yourself from Violent Crime Charges
A violent crime charge in Pasadena can impact the rest of your life. You could face severe penalties for the following violent acts:
California also considers domestic violence to be a violent crime. Many violent crimes can be charged as misdemeanors or felonies. Any conviction can have serious repercussions as you are forced to pay high fines or to spend years incarcerated.
A skilled criminal defense lawyer can help you navigate the court system in Pasadena. Working with a lawyer can boost the strength of your case and help ensure that you’re treated fairly by the prosecutors who want to secure a guilty verdict.
For a free legal consultation with a Criminal Defense lawyer serving Pasadena, call (310) 896-2723
Assault as a Violent Crime
You can be accused of assault if you willfully used force that you knew would probably hurt someone else. You could be charged with simple or misdemeanor assault for even minor actions like pushing or hitting another person. Misdemeanor assault can lead to 6 months of jail time if you’re convicted.
You could also face more serious assault charges, including:
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Assault with a Firearm
- Assault by Means Likely to Produce Great Bodily Injury
These more severe assault charges can be treated as misdemeanors or felonies by the court system. A conviction for any of them can lead to $10,000 in fines and up to 4 years in a state prison.
Misdemeanor and felony assault charges can be difficult to fight. Don’t get caught up by legal tangles. Work with a violent crimes lawyer who can help steer your case and provide you with excellent advice.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Battery Charges in Pasadena
Battery is defined as applying force or violence to another person willfully and for no lawful reason. You can only be charged with battery if you actually use force on someone else. The court system can charge battery as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on who you attacked.
A battery conviction typically results in fines of up to $2,000 and up to 6 months in jail. You could also be forced to attend anger management classes and you could be banned from firearm ownership for a number of years.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
California’s Murder Charges
A murder charge can be used if someone causes another person to die with “malice aforethought” and no legal justification. “Malice aforethought” is a legal term that simply means you acted with the intent to kill someone or that you knew that your actions could result in a death. However, you should not be charged with murder in CA for killing someone in self-defense.
You could face one of two charges if accused of murder in Pasadena:
Second Degree Murder
Pasadena uses charges of second degree murder to prosecute murders that were not planned out. Second degree murder is the less severe murder charge, but a conviction can still lead to life in prison.
First Degree Murder
You can be charged with first degree murder if you kill someone after planning out your actions. The court system penalizes first degree murder more harshly than any other violent crime. A conviction for first degree murder can lead to the death penalty.
Don’t try to face a murder charge on your own. Your life could be at risk if you are convicted. Get help right away from a violent crimes lawyer who can focus on your defense and protecting you.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Charges of Domestic Violence in Pasadena
A charge of domestic violence can apply any time someone attempts to harm, hurt, or harass someone they are currently involved with. You can also face domestic violence charges for acting against an ex. Domestic violence charges can be used to prosecute:
- Threatening Behavior
- Destruction of Property
You could also be charged with domestic battery if you touch a family member in a way that is offensive or harmful. Note that you can be convicted of domestic battery even if you don’t hurt anyone. A domestic battery conviction can lead to $2,000 in fines and a year in jail.
Any conviction for domestic violence can impact your life in many ways. You could face difficulties getting custody of your children if you have a domestic violence conviction. You might also be unable to get the spousal support you’re entitled to if you were convicted of domestic violence.
Defend Yourself from a Violent Crimes Charge
Don’t underestimate the severity of a violent crimes charge. A conviction could lead to life in prison or even the death penalty. Make sure you get exceptional legal aid from a skilled violent crimes lawyer. You can start building a case right away by contacting the Simmrin Law Group for a FREE consultation. We understand what you’re going through and we’re ready to help. Fill out the form on the right or call us at (310) 997-4688 to get the ball rolling right away.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form