The courts in San Diego, CA, can hand down harsh penalties if you are convicted of a sex crime. You could be fined and sent to jail or prison for a lengthy period of time. Once you are released from jail, you might be required to register as a sex offender.
These penalties can impact the rest of your life. Fortunately, you can get help handling a sexual abuse allegation right away by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. Our sex crime lawyers in San Diego can help build your defense if you are accused of any type of sexual misconduct.
Sex Crimes in San Diego: Child Sexual Abuse Charges
Sex crimes involving minors – or anyone under the age of 18 – can be prosecuted very harshly in the state of California. There are a number of charges specifically designed to prosecute child molestation, including:
- Unlawful sexual activity with a minor
- Statutory rape
- Traveling to meet a minor
- Seducing or soliciting a minor
- Child pornography
These charges make it illegal to engage in any sexual activity with a minor. Even speaking with a minor about sexual topics can result in criminal charges in San Diego. Make sure that you take any child sexual abuse charge seriously by reaching out to a criminal defense lawyer in San Diego right now.
For a free legal consultation with a sex crimes lawyer serving San Diego, call (310) 896-2723
Sex Crimes in San Diego: Non-Consensual Sex Acts
Individuals who force someone else into a non-consensual sex act can be charged with crimes such as sexual battery or rape.
Sexual battery charges apply if someone touches another person in a sexual way without the other person’s consent. Sexual battery charges do not cover non-consensual intercourse. You could face fines of up to $10,000 and up to four years of prison time if convicted of sexual battery.
Rape refers to the act of non-consensual sexual intercourse. Individuals can be charged with rape if they force someone into sex through violence, threats, or blackmail. Rape charges can also apply if an individual has intercourse with someone who is:
Note that California uses rape charges to prosecute date rape. Having non-consensual sex with someone to whom you are connected romantically is considered a criminal act. Depending upon the age of the rape victim and the severity of the attack, you could face 13 years of prison time and fines of up to $10,000 for a rape conviction.
San Diego Sex Crimes Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Sex Crimes in San Diego: Additional Sex Crimes
There are many other laws on the books in San Diego to prosecute sex crimes. Some of the most common sexual abuse charges that we see here at the Simmrin Law Group include:
- Prostitution or solicitation of a prostitute
- Lewd conduct
- Indecent exposure
- Human trafficking
- Failure to register as a sex offender
Prostitution or Solicitation of a Prostitute
You cannot legally pay someone to engage in a sexual act or engage in sexual activity in exchange for payment in the state of California. Both prostitution and solicitation of a prostitute can result in jail time of 180 days and fines of $1,000.
Individuals who go into a public place and then touch their own private parts or the private parts of someone else may be charged with lewd conduct. Note that this charge can apply even if all involved parties consent to the touching. You can be fined $1,000 and jailed for six months if convicted of lewd conduct.
Revealing a private area of your body while in public can result in indecent exposure charges in San Diego. Note that this charge should not apply to breastfeeding mothers or people who “moon” others. An indecent exposure conviction can result in fines of up to $10,000 and up to three years in prison.
Human trafficking is an incredibly serious charge that involves restricting the freedom of another person, typically to force them to engage in illicit activity. Human trafficking convictions can result in fines of up to $500,000. You could even face life in prison if convicted of human trafficking.
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
Finally, most sex crime convictions require you to join California’s sex offender registry. If you fail to register properly, you can be charged with failure to register as a sex offender. A conviction could result in three years of prison time and fines of up to $10,000.
Common Defenses Against Sex Crime Charges
The most common defenses against sex crime charges vary depending upon the specific crime. For instance, with a charge of engaging in sexual activity with a minor, a common argument is that the defendant had a reasonable belief that the child was of legal age.
With a rape charge, a common defense is that the sexual activity was, in fact, consensual. Rape is a serious charge that should not be taken lightly. Unfortunately, in some cases, alleged victims falsely accuse others. Not only can this hurt the party who has been accused, but it also damages the credibility of true victims.
A common defense against a wide variety of sex crime charges is mistaken identity. Victims may get confused and identify the wrong person as their attacker. The falsely accused defendant may look like the actual perpetrator, or the victim may have seen the accused around the time of the attack and got mixed up.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Registration as a Sex Offender
Not all sex crimes result in mandatory registration as a sex offender in California, but the majority do. Registering as a sex offender can haunt you long past any jail or prison time that you are required to serve.
There are three tiers of sex offenders. The amount of time you must remain registered varies, from 10 years, up to lifetime registration if your crime was severe.
Registered sex offenders can find it incredibly difficult to obtain work or find a place to live. Beating a conviction can be critical to getting your life back to normal after an accusation.
Speak with a Sex Crimes Lawyer in San Diego Today
You can get professional help handling a sex crime allegation in San Diego. The Simmrin Law Group is here to start working on your defense today. We can begin going over your legal options with a free case evaluation.
Call or complete our online contact form to speak with a sex crimes lawyer in San Diego now.