Depending on the type of crime you have been charged with in Santa Clarita, CA, you may be looking at a misdemeanor or felony conviction. This is especially true for violent crimes. These are often punished with lofty fines, jail time, or both.
At the Simmrin Law Group, we’ve been working with clients charged with violent crimes for decades. We have the experience you need to help you understand your rights and fight the charges against you. Read on to learn more!
You can be charged with the violent crime of assault by simply throwing a punch in a bar fight. One punch can take up to $1,000 out of your pocket and cost you six months of your life in a state prison.
More serious offenses can be penalized with even more fines and up to 4 years in prison. This largely depending on whether such charges are prosecuted as misdemeanors or felonies. Getting the legal help you need as soon as possible may keep you from being convicted and sent to jail.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Santa Clarita, call (310) 896-2723
Assault with a Deadly Weapon
You may think that a charge of assault with a deadly weapon refers to a firearm. In fact, it refers to an act of assault with any other item that could be used as a weapon. Any item that is used to harm another person can be considered a deadly weapon, such as:
- Beer bottles (broken or otherwise)
An experienced violent crimes lawyer will know how best to argue an assault with a deadly weapon charge. This can help you present a better defense against such a charge in court.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Assault with a Firearm
To be charged with assault with a firearm, there must be a gun involved in the assault. For example, if you were to pistol-whip someone, this would be an example of assault with a firearm.
You do not have to shoot the gun for it to be an assault. In fact, shooting the gun would probably be classified as another kind of violent crime, like murder, manslaughter, or attempted murder.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers in Santa Clarita, CA today
Battery is a tricky charge because the punishment depends largely on:
- Who you used force upon
- If the person was injured as a result of that force
- Who the injured party was
For instance, while a battery charge against a spouse may be treated as a misdemeanor, one involving a police officer may be treated as a felony.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Domestic Battery / Domestic Violence
In the state of California, a person can be charged with domestic violence for a number of different crimes, including stalking, threats, or other forms of abuse. Domestic battery is one such charge.
What distinguishes a domestic battery charge from a standard battery charge is that the victim is typically a loved one. However, the victim does not have to be living with you to be a victim of domestic battery. The victim must be (or has been):
- Living with you
- Engaged or married to you
- Dating you
- The parent of your child
If you are going through a divorce, a domestic battery conviction might also impact your chances of having custody of or visitation with your children. Asking an experienced violent crimes lawyer to represent you may ensure that you miss less time with your children – maybe no time at all.
Without a doubt, murder is the most serious crime anyone can be charged with in Santa Clarita. The state of California divides murder into two categories:
First Degree Murder
The charge of first degree murder refers to a murder that was planned, or “premeditated.” To be convicted of first degree murder, the prosecutor must be able to prove that you planned what you did, and that you did it knowing you would cause the victim’s death. This, being the most severe of charges, can be punished in California with the most severe of penalties: the death penalty.
Second Degree Murder
If your actions lead to the death of the victim, but you didn’t plan to kill that person, you could be charged with second degree murder. While not punished as severely as first degree murder, a second degree murder charge still carries a minimum of 15 years in prison.
It is not recommended that you face either of these charges alone. At the Simmrin Law Group, we’ve handled every kind of violent crimes case. This experience has given us the wisdom necessary to provide our clients with the best possible defense against a system that too often works against them.
Facing Charges? We Can Help!
If you have been charged with a violent crime in the state of California, we here at the Simmrin Law Group can help. Our Santa Clarita criminal defense law firm has decades of experience working on these cases. Call (310) 997-4688 today for a FREE consultation, or fill out our contact form to be connected to a violent crimes lawyer in Santa Clarita who can answer your questions with no obligation to retain.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form