You can face serious consequences if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Santa Monica. A single conviction for this mistake can result in the suspension of your license. You can also face high fines, probation, and even time in jail.
Successfully defending yourself from a DUI charge in Santa Monica can be much easier if you’re working with a courtroom-tested DUI lawyer. The legal professionals of the Simmrin Law Group understand the strategies that can help you in your legal battle by improving your defense.
Fight DUI and Traffic Violation Charges in Santa Monica
A DUI charge can be incredibly hard to deal with on your own. One false move could cost you your license. You can also face other traffic charges that can lead to fines and time spent incarcerated. Driving mistakes can be seen as traffic infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies.
Regardless of the specific traffic violation charges you’re facing, you could end up getting points on your license. California will suspend your license if you reach the following thresholds:
- 4 points in 1 year.
- 6 points in 2 years.
- 8 points in 3 years.
Protect your ability to get around by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Santa Monica as soon as you can. The faster you get to work on your case, the better your odds will be in the courtroom.
DUI Charges in Santa Monica, CA
California treats drunk driving very seriously. Anyone over 21 can be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is at or above 0.08%. The law is even stricter for individuals under 21, who can face DUI charges even if their BAC is only 0.01%.
A DUI charge is somewhat unique because it can result in the immediate suspension of your license. Even a first-time offense can cause you to lose your license for 4 months, which can lead to a cascade of other negative repercussions in your life. You might also face fines and jail time if you are convicted of a DUI.
Be aware that you cannot avoid a DUI conviction by refusing to take a chemical test if you are pulled over. In fact, refusing to submit to a chemical test for your BAC can result in the suspension of your license for a year. This refusal also comes with a fine of $125.
Working with a DUI lawyer who understands that Santa Monica court system can improve your chances of successfully handling a drunk driving charge. Get help from experienced DUI defense lawyers who can guide you through the stressful court process.
Santa Monica’s Traffic Infractions
You are most likely familiar with traffic infractions, which are not considered criminal offenses though they still come with serious penalties. Traffic infractions are minor offenses, usually punished through a ticket written by a law enforcement officer. Common examples of traffic infractions include:
- Running a stop sign.
- Driving without insurance.
- Violating the rules of a carpool lane.
Red light cameras can also monitor traffic infractions in the Santa Monica area. You can be recorded by a red light camera if you fail to properly obey a traffic signal. The ticket you receive from this camera is treated seriously by the court system and must be addressed.
A traffic infraction will most likely end up putting one point on your license. You may have to pay a fine of up to $450 if found guilty of these infractions. In some cases, the court will also impound your car for a traffic infraction.
Driving on a Suspended License in California
You may be charged with a misdemeanor for more serious traffic violations in Santa Monica. A first-time misdemeanor traffic violation generally results in two points being added to your license.
Driving on a suspended or revoked license is a common example of a misdemeanor traffic violation. You can face this charge if you drove your car while aware that your license had been either revoked or temporarily suspended.
The charges for driving while your license is revoked or suspended vary depending on your situation. These repercussions are generally severe. You could be faced with fines of $1,000 and 6 months of jail time if you are convicted.
Reckless Driving Charges in Santa Monica
The state of California also considers reckless driving to be a misdemeanor. You can be charged with reckless driving if you drive in a way that willfully disregards the safety of others. This can occur if you:
- Speed excessively
- Drive on the sidewalk
- Drive the wrong way
- Pass illegally
As with other misdemeanors, you will receive two points on your license if you are convicted of reckless driving. You might end up spending 90 days in jail and you could have to pay fines of up to $1,000.
Dealing with misdemeanor charges for a traffic violation can be incredibly difficult. Get help from a criminal defense lawyer who understands how the legal system works.
A Santa Monica DUI Lawyer Can Help You
Fighting a traffic violation charge can feel overwhelming. A conviction for a DUI or another violation can cost you your license, along with your hard-earned money and your freedom. Get help from the skilled DUI lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group to start building your case. We’ll discuss your situation with a FREE consultation. Let us put our skills to use for you.
Call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out the form on the right to get started with your legal defense.