You can end up facing harsh penalties for breaking any of California’s complicated laws about weapons. Some individuals are sent to prison for:
- Selling Weapons
- Owning Weapons
- Carrying Weapons
- Using Weapons
No matter what weapons charge you’re facing, the Simmrin Law Group can help you. Our weapons charges lawyers in South Gate understand what you’re going through. We know how to build you a solid defense and we’re here to help you with every step of your legal battle.
The Definition of Weapons in South Gate
Some people think that firearms are the only weapons that are regulated in South Gate. This is not the case. You can face weapons charges if you misuse many different implements, including:
- Bladed Weapons. Knives and swords are common examples.
- Club Weapons. Examples could include baseball bats and sticks.
- Incendiary Devices. Many people think of “Molotov cocktails.”
- Pointed Weapons. Pencils, pens, and scissors can all apply.
- Makeshift Weapons. Rocks, broken glass, or beer bottles may all qualify as weapons.
Firearms are also heavily regulated in South Gate. Note that California considers all of the following items to be firearms:
- Handguns and Revolvers
- Shotguns and Rifles
- Antique Guns
If you are facing a criminal charge for the misuse of any of the above weapons, a criminal defense lawyer in South Gate can help you. The faster you start building a defense, the more likely you will be to win in court.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving South Gate, call (310) 896-2723
The Unlicensed Sale of Firearms in South Gate
You can face criminal charges for selling, leasing, or using another method to change the ownership of a gun without a license in South Gate. The unlicensed sale of firearms comes with some exceptions, but they are very complex.
Generally, you can expect fines of up to $1,000 and 6 months of jail time if you are convicted of the unlicensed sale of firearms.
You could face harsher penalties for selling certain kinds of guns, including assault rifles, which are currently banned in California.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
California’s Felon with a Firearm Law and Criminal Charges
Many people believe that they have the legal right to own a firearm. However, this right can be revoked by the state in some circumstances. California’s “felon with a firearm” law has made it illegal for you to own a firearm if you are a:
- Narcotic Drug Addict
You can also face criminal charges if you are found with a gun if:
- You are subject to some restraining or protective orders
- You were convicted of certain misdemeanors
- You were convicted of some federal crimes
You can end up spending 3 years in jail and paying fines of up to $10,000 if you are convicted under the felon with a firearm law.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers In South Gate, CA today
Carrying a Concealed Weapon vs. Carrying a Loaded Firearm
California uses strict guidelines to control how weapons may be carried in public. There are two major charges you could face for carrying a firearm around other people:
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
You are not permitted to conceal a firearm on your person or in your vehicle without a concealed carry permit (CCP) in South Gate. You can face 3 years of jail time and $10,000 in fines if you are convicted of carrying a concealed weapon.
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
Some individuals attempt to get around a charge for carrying a concealed weapon by openly carrying a firearm. This will generally result in criminal charges as well. Carrying a loaded firearm is a serious offense in South Gate that can result in high fines and jail time.
Fighting a charge for carrying a concealed or loaded firearm on your own can be difficult. A weapons charges lawyer in South Gate can give you the help you need to master these charges.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon Charges in South Gate
Drawing or displaying a weapon in a threatening, angry, or rude way can lead to a brandishing a deadly weapons charge. You could face this charge for the use of any weapon, not just firearms. You can end up left with fines of $1,000 and a jail sentence of 3 years if you are convicted of brandishing a deadly weapon.
South Gates’s Laws on Negligent Discharge
Negligent discharge occurs when someone shoots a firearm in a reckless way. You should not be charged with negligent discharge if you fire a gun accidently, or if you shoot your weapon during an act of self-defense.
A conviction for negligent discharge can lead to 3 years of jail time and up to $10,000 in fines. Make sure you’re ready to address any negligent discharge accusation by working with a weapons charge lawyer in South Gate.
Let a Weapons Charges Lawyer in South Gate Build Your Defense
Beating a weapons charge requires skill and experience. You can get the professional help you need from a weapons charges lawyer in South Gate. The Simmrin Law Group has a reputation for beating prosecutors. We’re ready to take on your case and fight for you. Find out more about your options with our FREE consultation.
Call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out our online contact form to start defending yourself today.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form