You could face weapons charges in Torrance if you are accused of using a firearm or other weapon in an improper manner. Weapons charges are treated as misdemeanors or felonies by the court system in California. You could end up facing steep fines or imprisonment if you are convicted of a weapons charge.
Weapons charges are often handled by very experienced prosecutors. You can improve your odds of success by contacting a weapons charges lawyer in Torrance right away. The Simmrin Law Group has a reputation for success and can offer you the legal advice you need.
Defend Yourself From Weapons Charges in Torrance
Torrance uses a number of different charges to handle firearm offenses in the courtroom, including:
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Negligent Discharge
- Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
You can also face charges for brandishing a weapon. In some situations you could also be charged under the felon with a firearm law. Weapons charges are generally treated as misdemeanors or felonies, leading to dire repercussions if you are convicted.
Beating a weapons charge can be extremely difficult. A criminal defense lawyer who understands the court system in Torrance can strengthen your case. Take charge of your future by getting the help you need to protect yourself.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Torrance, call (310) 928-9347
Charges for Carrying a Weapon in Torrance
In generally, you can only carry firearms in public in very specific circumstances. Carrying a firearm in Torrance could lead to the following charges:
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
You could be charged with carrying a loaded firearm if you have any weapon that makes use of an explosive propellant, including an antique gun or a taser. Additionally, a charge for carrying a loaded weapon can apply even if your firearm cannot be operated.
Carrying a loaded firearm or a concealed weapon can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony by the court system. You could be exempted from these charges in some circumstances if you have a concealed carry permit. If you are convicted for carrying a concealed weapon or a loaded firearm you could face fines of $10,000 and up to 3 years of jail time.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Negligent Discharge Laws in California
The court system in Torrance defines negligent discharge as firing a gun in a way that is grossly negligent. An individual displays gross negligence if their actions could lead to the death or injury of another person.
You might face misdemeanor or felony charges if accused of negligent discharge in Torrance. A conviction for negligent discharge can lead to fines of $10,000 and a jail sentence of up to 3 years. You can get the help you need to fight a negligent discharge accusation from a weapons charges lawyer.
Torrance’s Laws on the Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
Torrance uses strict regulations for selling, leasing, or transferring ownership of a firearm. You must have a license to sell or otherwise shift ownership of a gun. If you make a gun sale without a license you could be charged with the unlicensed sale of firearms.
The state of California allows for some exceptions to the sale of firearms, but these can be difficult to understand. A single mistake can cost you in the court of law. You could be fined $1,000 and sentenced to 6 months in jail for each firearm sold without a license.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon in Torrance
You can be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon if you take out or display a weapon around other people in a rude, angry, or threatening way. Individuals can also face charges for brandishing a deadly weapon if they draw a weapon during a fight or argument and are not using it defensively.
Many items can be considered deadly weapons in Torrance. For example, you could be accused of brandishing a deadly weapon for the use of:
- Broken Glass
- Baseball Bats
You might face misdemeanor, aggravated misdemeanor, or felony charges for brandishing a deadly weapon. You could end up spending 3 years in prison and paying high fines if you are convicted.
Felon with a Firearm Laws and Federal Gun Charges
California uses the “felon with a firearm” law to prohibit members of the following groups from owning guns:
- Narcotics Addicts
- Convicted Felons
- Individuals with Certain Protective or Restraining Orders
You are also forbidden from owning a gun if you were convicted of some misdemeanors, federal felonies, or crimes that led to at least 30 days in federal prison.
Individuals who break the felon with a firearm law can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. A conviction can result in fines of $10,000 and up to 3 years in jail.
Federal gun charges may also be brought against you in some circumstances. You could face federal charges for using a gun to carry out other crimes or as part of an ongoing federal investigation. Federal charges can be tough to beat and can lead to very harsh penalties.
Don’t get overrun by state or federal weapons charges. You can get the help you need to defend yourself by reaching out to a weapons charges lawyer in Torrance right away.
Work with a Weapons Charges Lawyer to Defend Your Future
Weapons charges are easy to underestimate, but they can lead to steep penalties. Take steps to protect your future by contacting an experienced weapons charges lawyer. You can get expert care from lawyers who have a reputation for winning cases at the Simmrin Law Group. Get help strengthening your case by taking advantage of our FREE consultation.
Fill out the form on the right or call (310) 997-4688 to find out what we can do for your case.