Rideshare services have become one of the most popular modes of transportation across Glendale and the entire state of California. However, with the increased usage of rideshare services, there is a rise in the number of motor vehicle wrecks. If you have been seriously injured in a rideshare accident, you may be entitled to reimbursement of your losses.
However, the claims process can be intimidating, especially when you are still healing from the trauma of your injuries. Your recovery does not need to hold you back from demanding justice. Contact a dedicated Glendale rideshare accident lawyer at Simmrin Law Group to learn more about what is next for your insurance claims and civil lawsuits against the individuals or entities responsible for your injuries.
Rideshare Accidents in Glendale Are Unlike Standard Car Crashes
Rideshare services, including Uber, Lyft, and other lesser-known providers, are involved in collisions more and more often. However, after being involved in a crash with a Lyft or Uber, the claims process is much different from being involved in a traditional motor vehicle wreck. Depending on who is responsible for causing your accident, you may have the right to file a claim with the rideshare company’s auto insurance provider, the rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance provider, or your own.
Despite the fact that California is a fault state for car accidents, you could file a claim with your own insurance company if you have no-fault insurance coverage, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, or personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
However, when you file a claim with your own insurance company, remember that it could result in a significant increase in your auto insurance premiums. This is because the insurance company will attempt to recoup the compensation they paid out on your claim. For this reason, before filing a claim with your own insurance company, make sure you discuss your legal options with your attorney.
When Rideshare Insurance Pays
Rideshare companies carry up to $1 million in insurance coverage protection when their drivers are responsible for causing a collision or are involved in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence. However, rideshare companies will generally only be responsible for the actions of their drivers during specific times. These include:
- When the rideshare driver is logged into the rideshare app and actively working
- When the rideshare driver is actively transporting a rideshare passenger
- When the rideshare driver is heading to pick up a passenger
If the collision occurs outside of these times, the rideshare driver will not be considered “on the clock,” and therefore, their personal auto insurance coverage should apply.
Insurance Minimums in California
Under California auto insurance laws, all motorists must have a minimum of the following types and amounts of coverage under California Insurance Code §11580.1b when registering their vehicle:
- $15,000 per person in bodily injury liability coverage
- $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
Drivers are not required to purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, comprehensive, collision, gap insurance, rental car coverage, or other types of insurance protection. However, when rideshare drivers start working for Uber and Lyft, they will often need to increase their auto insurance coverage as required by their insurance provider. Failure to do so could be considered fraud, which may make it far more difficult for you to recover the compensation you deserve through the rideshare driver’s insurance company.
What to Do If Rideshare Insurance Coverage Is Not in Effect
When the rideshare company’s auto insurance coverage is not in effect, pursuing a claim with the rideshare driver’s auto insurance company may be your next best option. However, this is only true if the driver is responsible for causing your accident. Otherwise, you would file a claim with the liable party’s insurance company under California’s fault insurance laws.
For example, suppose you were traveling in a Lyft or Uber when your rideshare was struck by a drunk driver. In that case, you might be able to file a claim with not only Uber or Lyft but with the drunk driver’s auto insurance provider. Your Glendale rideshare accident attorney may also discover that there were local dram shops or social hosts that served or sold alcohol to the drunk driver when they were already impaired.
If the insurance company is unable to compensate you for every loss you experienced in the collision, you may have the right to file a lawsuit against those responsible for causing your injuries. This could include other negligent drivers, your rideshare driver, Uber, Lyft, auto parts designers and manufacturers, distributors, and even the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) or the city of Glendale.
Your rideshare accident lawyer in Glendale, CA, will conduct a thorough investigation into the cause of your accident to determine who is at fault for your injuries and which legal options are most suitable for your case.
For a free legal consultation with a rideshare accident lawyer serving Glendale, call (310) 896-2723
How Much Your Rideshare Accident Damages Are Worth in Glendale
To find out how much you could be awarded when you file a rideshare accident claim, you must prepare to go over your losses in detail with your personal injury lawyer. Your rideshare accident attorney in Glendale, CA, at Simmrin Law Group, will evaluate every way you have been affected by not only the accident itself but your subsequent injuries. Taking into consideration the impact your injuries will have not only now but in the future is crucial.
You are entitled to reimbursement for both economic damages and non-economic damages, some of which could include:
- Vehicle repairs or replacement costs
- Diminished quality of life
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of companionship and love
- Psychological distress and anguish
- Disfiguring injuries, permanent disability, and skin scarring
- Embarrassment and shame
- Loss of income and employee benefits
- Medical bills and future healthcare costs
Glendale Rideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Connect with an Experienced Rideshare Accident Lawyer in Glendale, CA for Help Today
Rideshare accident claims may be far more complex than traditional motor vehicle accident cases. However, this does not mean you should not stand up for yourself and ensure those responsible for causing your injuries are held accountable to the fullest extent of the law.
When you connect with a knowledgeable Glendale rideshare accident lawyer at Simmrin Law Group, you can learn more about how much compensation you could be awarded, who is responsible for causing her injuries, and the steps you should be prepared to take to bring them to justice. When you are ready to get started on your lawsuit and insurance claims, do not hesitate. Contact our team for a free, no-obligation consultation, and take back control of your life.