You can end up facing serious legal penalties if you are accused of a theft crime in Carson. The court system can overwhelm you and you can end up convicted quickly. A theft crimes conviction can result in incarceration and steep fines.
You can increase your odds of beating the charges against you by working with a theft crimes lawyer in Carson. The Simmrin Law Group can offer you experienced legal advice close to home. Let us start working on your case so you can get on with your life.
Understanding Theft Charges in Carson
Theft is the act of stealing from another person without using force or threats. There are two main charges used to prosecute acts of theft in Carson:
Individuals who are accused of stealing less than $950 can be charged with petty theft. You can only face petty theft charges if you steal from someone indirectly. Note that you will face a harsher charge if you steal certain items, including:
- Motor vehicles
- Certain agricultural and aquacultural products
You could be fined $1,000 and sentenced to 6 months of time in jail if you are convicted of petty theft.
Grand theft charges are used to prosecute non-violent thefts of over $950. You can be charged with grand theft for stealing directly from a person. You may also face this charge for the theft of horses, motor vehicles, and firearms.
A conviction for grand theft can lead to up to 3 years of incarceration. You can get help dealing with a theft charge right away by working with a criminal defense lawyer in Carson. Make sure you’re ready to protect yourself in the courtroom today.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Carson, call (310) 896-2723
Theft Charges for Motor Vehicles in Carson
Motor vehicle theft is handled with unique charges in Carson. Depending on your situation, you could be charged with:
Unlawful Taking of a Vehicle
The state of California defines unlawful taking of a vehicle as stealing someone else’s motor vehicle while intending to bring it back. Unlawful taking of a vehicle is seen as the less severe of the motor vehicle theft charges.
You can still face incredibly serious charges for unlawful taking of a vehicle, including 3 years of prison time and fines of $5,000.
Grand Theft Auto
Charges of grand theft auto are considered more severe than unlawful taking of a vehicle. You can be convicted of grand theft auto for stealing a vehicle without intending to return it. A conviction for grand theft auto can lead to up to 5 years in jail and fines of up to $10,000.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
California’s Charges for Robbery
You can face robbery charges if you take another person’s property:
- In their presence
- Against their will
- With fear or force
- While intending to keep what you took
There are two main charges used for the prosecution of robbery in California:
First Degree Robbery
First degree robbery is the more severe robbery charge. You must commit very specific acts to be charged with first degree robbery. First degree robbery charges only apply if you rob:
- Someone riding in a motor vehicle
- Someone in an inhabited structure
- Someone by an ATM after they used it
You can be sentenced to up to 9 years in prison if you are convicted of first degree robbery. You can also be fined up to $10,000 for a first degree robbery conviction.
Second Degree Robbery
The state of California uses the charge of second degree robbery to handle all other instances of robbery. The penalties for second degree robbery are not as severe, but they can still be very punishing. You could be sent to state prison for 5 years if convicted of second degree robbery.
Click to contact our Carson Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Take Charge with a Carson Theft Crimes Lawyer
You don’t have to face theft crime charges on your own. A theft crimes lawyer in Carson, California, can take on your case and provide you with the help and support you need. You can get professional advice today from the Simmrin Law Group. Find out how we can help you right now by contacting us to take advantage of our FREE consultation.
Get the defense you need by filling out our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form