Drivers in Carson can end up losing their license, facing fines, and spending time in jail if they are charged with driving under the influence (DUI). The state of California handles drunk driving and other traffic offenses very seriously, and you can end up suffering for years if you are convicted.
You can get help on your side right away by contacting a skilled DUI lawyer in Carson. The Simmrin Law Group has experience helping clients just like you. We understand your situation and we’re ready to put our legal skills to work building your defense.
The Definition of Driving Under the Influence in Carson
The court system in California can charge you with driving under the influence if you operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that exceeds the legal limit. In general, California uses a legal limit of .08% for non-commercial drivers over the age of 21. However, you can also face DUI charges if you are:
- Under 21 with a BAC of .01% or more
- A commercial driver with a BAC of .04% or more
Dealing with a DUI Charge in California
DUIs are unique in many ways. You can end up in serious trouble if you do not handle these accusations properly right from the start. You will generally face a drunk driving charge after a traffic accident or a traffic stop. The police officer may attempt to prove you are guilty of driving under the influence by asking you to perform a field sobriety test or a chemical test.
You have legal rights in this situation. In some instances, you are allowed to refuse these tests. However, you MUST perform them if:
- You are under 21
- You are on DUI probation
- You have been legally arrested
Refusing to complete a chemical test when you are legally required to do so can result in a 1 year suspension of your license.
You need skilled help from a trained criminal defense lawyer in Carson to fight a DUI charge. The sooner you get professional assistance on your side, the higher your odds of winning your case will be. Losing a drunk driving case can lead to these penalties:
1st DUI Offense:
- Fines of $2,000
- Jail time of 2 days – 6 months
- License suspension of 1 month – 1 year
2nd DUI Offense:
- Fines of $2,500
- Jail time of 4 days – 1 year
- License suspension of 90 days – 2 years
3rd DUI Offense:
- Fines of $3,000
- Jail time of 120 days – 1 year
- License suspension of 3 years
Other Traffic Charges in Carson
DUIs are not the only traffic violations that can lead to fines and other harsh penalties. You could also require legal assistance to deal with:
Traffic infractions are minor mistakes that are not treated as criminal acts. Most drivers are familiar with basic traffic infractions, including:
- Illegally changing lanes
- Running stop signs
- Violating carpool lane requirements
You will likely receive a ticket from a police officer for a traffic infraction. You could also get a ticket from a red light camera in Carson. According to the California Supreme Court, tickets issued by red light cameras are legal and you must treat them seriously.
Traffic infractions are usually punished with small fines. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will also put a point onto your license if you commit a traffic infraction. If you accrue enough points in a given period of time, you will lose your license.
Criminal Traffic Violations
You can face more severe charges if you are accused of a criminal traffic violation. Criminal traffic violations can include:
- Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
- Excessive Speeding
- Reckless Driving
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Hit and Runs
Some of these charges are treated as misdemeanors, others are felonies. All of these charges can have serious repercussions for the rest of your life, including high fines, years of time in prison, and the suspension of your license.
You can fight back against any traffic violation charge by working with a skilled DUI lawyer today.
Get the Help You Need from a Carson DUI Lawyer
DUIs and other traffic violations can change the course of your life. You need help addressing these charges before it’s too late. The Simmrin Law Group can provide you with the support and advice you need while building you a solid defense. You can get in contact with our experienced DUI lawyers in Carson today with a FREE consultation.
Make sure you’re ready for your day in court by filling out our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.