A driving under the influence (DUI) charge in California can be very serious. You could face fines, jail time, and the suspension of your license if convicted of this charge. It is one of the most severe traffic violation charges you could face in Long Beach.
You can get help handling a DUI charge quickly and appropriately by working with an experienced attorney. The skilled Long Beach criminal defense team at the Simmrin Law Group may be able to help you deal with these charges so you can move forward with your life.
You Can Fight a Traffic Violation Charge in California
Charges for traffic violations in California may be simple infractions, such as:
- Speeding Tickets
- Illegal Lane Changes
- Carpool Lane Violations
- Driving Without Insurance
- Red Light Camera Tickets
You could also face misdemeanor charges that include:
- Reckless Driving
- Driving on a Suspending License
If you are charged with a DUI you could face either misdemeanor or felony charges depending on your circumstances.
Every traffic violation charge in Long Beach can lead to fines and points put on your license. Get help fighting these charges and defending yourself in court by working with DUI lawyers who have proven their skills in the Long Beach courtroom.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Long Beach, call (310) 928-9347
DUI Charges in California
The state of California treats DUIs very seriously. You are considered to be under the influence if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of just .08%. Commercial drivers face even stricter rules and cannot have a BAC of over .04%, while drivers under the age of 21 face a zero-tolerance policy that means they can’t drive with a BAC of even .01%.
You can face jail time for even a first-time DUI offense and if you have multiple DUI charges you could end up spending up to a year in jail. This charge can also lead to:
- Fines of up to $1,800.
- License suspension of up to 3 years.
Additionally, you can be severely penalized in California for refusing a BAC test if you are pulled over. You must complete a breath or blood test if you are asked to do so. Refusing can lead to a suspension of your driver’s license and a fine of $125.
Handling a DUI charge the right way can help you protect your future and avoid hefty fines. Getting an experienced defense lawyer on your side may improve your chances of navigating California’s court system and successfully defending yourself.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Charges for Traffic Infractions in Long Beach
You are most likely facing a traffic infraction if you are given a ticket while driving. These violations are not considered criminal offenses, but they still come with serious fines. You also get points on your license for many of these infractions, which could result in the suspension of your driving privileges. Your license will be suspended if you get:
- 4 points in 1 year
- 6 points in 2 years
- 8 points in 3 years
Common traffic infractions in Long Beach include:
You may be given a speeding ticket if you exceed the speed limit in a given location. A speeding ticket on its own will add 1 point to your license if you cannot fight it. This kind of charge can also become more serious depending on how fast you were going and if you were involved in another dangerous act.
Red Light Camera Tickets
Red light cameras snap pictures of your license plate if you go through a traffic signal when it is red. These tickets are just as serious as a ticket issued by a police officer and they can lead to heavy fines. You will generally have one point put on your license for running a red light.
Driving Without Insurance
You cannot legally drive without insurance in the state of California. If you do drive while uninsured you could face fines and penalties of up to $2,500. You could also have your license suspended and your car impounded, though this does not usually add a point to your license.
Handling traffic infractions may seem simple, but these offenses can be more serious than they appear. You can lose your license and end up paying large amounts of money if you lose your case. Get help from experience traffic lawyers to improve your chances for courtroom success.
California’s Misdemeanor Traffic Charges
Misdemeanor traffic charges in California are more serious than infractions. You could be arrested and sent to jail if convicted of these charges.
You may face a reckless driving charge in California for many reasons, including:
- Driving on a sidewalk
- Speeding excessively
- Engaging in daredevil behavior
- Driving on a road the wrong way
A conviction of reckless driving can lead to the following:
- Fines up to $1,000
- 90 days of incarceration in a county jail
- 2 years of probation
- 2 points added to your license
Driving on a Suspending License
The state of California treats driving on a suspended or a revoked license as a misdemeanor if you did it knowingly. You can face a wide range of penalties if you drive while your license is suspended or revoked. The exact fines and jail time you will face will depend on why your license was originally suspended.
Dealing with a misdemeanor traffic charge can be stressful and confusing. You can boost your chances for success by getting legal help to handle this process.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Get Professional Help from A Long Beach DUI Lawyer
The Simmrin Law Group has DUI lawyers in the Long Beach area who have the courtroom experience to handle a wide range of traffic charges. You don’t have to stand alone when defending yourself from tickets or misdemeanor charges. Get help with your unique situation by contacting us for a FREE consultation today. You can call us at (301) 997-4688 or fill out the form on the right to get started.