The Long Beach legal system treats violent crimes very seriously. These crimes, such as assault, battery, or murder, are treated as either misdemeanors or felonies by the state of California. If you are convicted of a violent crime, you could face hefty fines and time in either prison or jail.
An experienced violent crimes lawyer can help you handle these severe charges in and out of the courtroom. You can make sure that you get the best representation by working with our professional criminal defense law firm in Long Beach with years of legal successes in these types of cases.
Get Help With Violent Crimes Charges From Our Lawyers
If you’ve been charged with a violent crime in Long Beach, you could face serious repercussions in your future. The following acts fall under the umbrella of violent crimes in California:
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Assault with a Firearm
- Domestic Battery
- Domestic Violence
Many of these crimes are felonies, though some carry lesser consequences as misdemeanors. Each act is treated very seriously by the court system of Long Beach. The outcome of your case could lead to years spent in prison.
You can get help dealing with any charges brought against you by contacting an experienced violent crimes lawyer at the Simmrin Law Group.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Long Beach, call (310) 928-9347
California’s Laws on Assault
Assault is considered a violent crime in California, including the Long Beach area. There are several different types of assault covered by the legal system. They include:
This act is defined as willfully applying force that you knew would likely cause someone else bodily injury. If you are charged with this crime, you could face fines of up to $1,000 and you could spend 6 months in jail.
You could face additional fines and up to 4 years in a state prison if you commit assault by means likely to produce great bodily injury. This crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the situation.
Assault with a Deadly Weapon
You could be charged with this violent crime if you assaulted another person with a weapon besides a firearm. Many objects can be considered weapons for this charge, including things like beer bottles or pencils. This kind of assault can be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony, leading to up to 4 years in state prison.
Assault with a Firearm
You might face this charge if you used a gun while being accused of assault. This charge can be brought against you even if you hit someone with the gun, instead of firing it. This can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. An experienced violent crimes lawyer can help you navigate California’s complicated assault laws, allowing you to better defend yourself in court.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Battery Crimes in Long Beach
You can be charged with battery in California if you willfully use force on someone else for no lawful reason. Unlike assault, you must actually use force to be charged with this crime. If no one is hurt in this action, the courts typically treat this charge as a misdemeanor.
However, if someone is injured, or if an officer of the law is involved in the incident, you could face felony charges, which can result in longer jail time and higher fines. Getting the legal aid you need as soon as possible may help you ensure that you face the correct charges in court.
Domestic Battery and Domestic Violence Crimes
California treats domestic violence as a catch all term to cover may situations, such as stalking, threats, abuse, or battery. These charges usually involve the use of force against a significant other.
For example, domestic battery in California is seen as harming someone who:
- Is living with you.
- Is or was dating you.
- Is or was engaged to you.
- Is or was married to you.
- Is the parent of your child.
This violent crime will be charged as a misdemeanor and it can lead to $2,000 in fines and a year in jail. All domestic violence charges could also impact your ability to get custody of your children if you’re involved in a divorce.
You can protect yourself regardless of the charges you’re facing by contacting a violent crimes lawyer in Long Beach.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Dealing with Murder Charges in California
Murder or homicide is by far the most serious violent crime charge you could face in Long Beach. This charge can apply if you caused someone else to die with malice aforethought and without any legal justification. There are two murder charges used in California:
First Degree Murder
This refers to a murder that was premeditated. The prosecutor must prove that you planned this act and carried it out knowing you could kill another person. This carries very severe penalties, including the possibility of the death penalty.
Second Degree Murder
Individuals can be charged with this crime if they killed someone without planning to do so. It is generally not charged as harshly as first-degree murder, though it still has a minimum sentence of 15 years in prison.
Fighting a murder charge can be an uphill battle in California. You can get the support you need by working with a law team that knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system.
Get a Long Beach Violent Crimes Lawyer on Your Side
Dealing with a violent crimes charge can be overwhelming. Let our Long Beach criminal defense team help you handle any charges you’re facing. We have years of experience in the courtroom and are ready to put our skills to work for you. Get started today with a FREE consultation to focus on your unique situation. You can call us at (301) 997-4688 or fill out the form on the right to get the help you need.