The state of California requires drivers to carry a few things when they operate their motor vehicles:
- A Driver’s License
- Vehicle Registration
- Proof of Insurance
You will be expected to show these documents to a police officer if you are pulled over while driving. You can end up facing criminal charges if you are caught driving without proof of insurance in Long Beach.
A conviction can lead to fines and the suspension of your license. Get professional help addressing this issue by contacting a driving without insurance lawyer in Long Beach today. You can get the legal advice you need from the Simmrin Law Group.
Let’s Focus on Uninsured Driver Laws in Long Beach
You can be charged under California Vehicle Code 16029 if you are accused of driving without insurance in Long Beach. You should be aware that you can face this charge even if you have an insurance policy and just don’t have your insurance card with you.
Drivers in Long Beach must always carry proof of insurance when they drive to avoid criminal charges that can lead to fines and other serious penalties.
Note that “proof of insurance” does not necessarily mean that you have an insurance policy in California. You can demonstrate that you have adequate insurance if you have proof that you:
- Left a Cash Deposit of $35,000 with the DMV
- Have a $35,000 Surety Bond with a Licensed Bond Company
You can also get the DMV to give you a self-insurance certificate in some cases. However, most drivers choose to carry a policy through an insurance company. If you do get your vehicle insurance through an insurance company, you will need to carry a set minimum amount to avoid a criminal charge. Drivers must carry at least:
- $5,000 for Property Damage
- $15,000 for One Person’s Injury or Death
- $30,000 for Multiple Peoples’ Injury or Death
Finally, your insurance policy must be current in order to be considered valid. You can be charged with driving without insurance if your payments for insurance are past due and your policy is no longer supported by the insurance company.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Long Beach, call (310) 896-2723
Repercussions for Driving Without Insurance in Long Beach
Drivers who operate a motor vehicle without insurance can face severe repercussions. Generally, the courts will punish a 1st offense less severely than subsequent offenses that occur within 3 years. You could expect to face:
- 1st Time Driving without Insurance. You can be fined $100 the first time you drive without insurance.
- Additional Times Driving without Insurance. You can be fined up to $500 if you drive without insurance again.
Many drivers dismiss these fines, but they are not the only penalties for driving without a license. You may also find that:
- Your Car is Impounded
- Your License is Suspended
Generally, the Long Beach DMV will only suspend your license if you were involved in an accident while driving without insurance. You could end up with a suspended license for 4 years if you drive without insurance. Make sure you’re ready to take on driving without insurance charges by reaching out to a Long Beach criminal defense lawyer today.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Criminal Defenses for Driving without Insurance Charges
It can be difficult to beat charges for driving without insurance. However, there are a few legal options that can help you handle these charges. A traffic violations lawyer in Long Beach could be able to help if you were exempt from the requirement to carry insurance.
Individuals driving the following types of vehicles do not have to carry proof of insurance:
- Vehicles for Off-Highway Use
- Vehicles Registered by the Government
- Trailers and Special Equipment Vehicles
Some people think they can avoid a charge for driving without insurance if they are operating someone else’s vehicle. Unfortunately, this is generally not the case. While the car’s owner is supposed to take out an insurance policy, you can still be charged if you are driving their car and they do not have one.
You can protect yourself from a driving without insurance charge in this circumstance by asking to see proof of insurance before you get behind the wheel.
Get Help from a Long Beach Driving Without Insurance Lawyer Today
Traffic violations can have many unexpected impacts on your life. Even driving without a license can leave you with fines, an impounded vehicle, and a suspended license. Make sure you take this charge seriously by contacting a driving without insurance lawyer in Long Beach today. You can get legal advice from the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group with a FREE consultation.
Let us start working to build your defense today. Call us at (310) 997-4688 or complete our online contact form.