The regulations surrounding charges for driving under the influence (DUI) change frequently in California and around the country. Each adjustment to these laws can have serious impacts on drivers throughout the state.
So, what do you need to know about California DUI laws in 2020? Review changes occurring throughout the system with the Simmrin Law Group. You can also consider some proposed adjustments that could be adopted in 2020.
California’s Laws on DUIs Remain Largely Unchanged in 2020
For the most part, California does not plan to make sweeping changes to DUI laws in 2020. This means that you may be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds the legal limits set by the state. In order to legally operate a vehicle, you must keep your BAC:
- Below 0.08% if you are over 21
- Below 0.04% if you are a commercial driver
- Below 0.01% if you are under 21
Additionally, California continues to prosecute drivers for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs. This includes:
- Some over-the-counter medications
- Some prescription medications
- All illicit chemical substances
Drivers continue to face DUI charges if they drive after using marijuana in the state of California.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 928-9347
Recent Adjustments to California’s DUI Laws
Many drivers in California are unaware that the state recently made adjustments to regulations on the use of ignition interlock devices (IIDs). IIDs are personal breathalyzers that can be placed in your vehicle after you are convicted of a DUI.
As of 2019, you may be legally required to place an IID in your vehicle after a first DUI conviction. Once you install an IID, you will be able to operate your vehicle, even if your license was suspended as part of your DUI conviction.
Per the new IID laws established in 2019, you may be required to install an IID for:
- Six months for a first DUI offense
- One year for a second DUI offense
- Two years for a third DUI offense
- Three years for fourth and subsequent DUI offenses
These new regulations on IID usage will be left in place until at least 2026 in the state of California.
Proposed Adjustments to California’s DUI Laws
In addition to the laws currently on the books, there have been a few proposals made to California’s DUI laws. For example, State Bill 1713 was proposed in 2019. SB 1713 would lower legally acceptable BAC levels in California by several percentage points.
Should SB 1713, or a similar bill, pass into law, drivers around the state would be required to maintain a BAC of under 0.05% to legally operate a vehicle. At the current date, only Utah uses 0.05% as a BAC limit. Shifting the BAC would give California some of the strictest DUI laws in the country.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Get Help Handling California DUI Charges in 2020
California continues to hand down incredibly harsh penalties for DUI convictions. Even a first-time DUI conviction in the state could lead to:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Up to six months in jail
- Up to a one-year license suspension
Additionally, all DUI charges in California are currently considered priorable. This means that DUI convictions remain on your record for 10 years. Each time you are arrested for a DUI, the penalties you face will grow more severe.
This makes it very important that you reach out to a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles as soon as you can after a DUI arrest. The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group focus on staying up-to-date about California’s DUI laws so they’re ready to provide you with the legal assistance you need.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Take Charge if You’re Accused of a DUI in California
Regardless of how DUI laws change in California in 2020, you need to get professional help quickly following an arrest. Reach out to a DUI lawyer in Los Angeles now to find out more about your legal options.
A DUI lawyer could be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed in some situations. The team at the Simmrin Law Group also stands ready to defend you in the courtroom in California.
Focus on California’s DUI Laws in 2020
Shifting DUI laws can make it difficult to handle these charges without professional help. Find out more about what you need to know about California’s DUI laws in 2020 with the Simmrin Law Group. Allow us to provide you with information today with a FREE case evaluation.
Our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles understand DUI laws in California. Get the help you deserve by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 997-4688.