California treats driving under the influence (DUI) as a priorable offense. This means that each time you are arrested for a DUI within a ten-year period, you can face more severe penalties for a conviction. You can use this article to work on understanding your second DUI offense in California.
The Simmrin Law Group can help you review the penalties for a second DUI conviction. You can also go over the results of getting a DUI while you’re still on probation for your first offense. Consider your legal options for handling a second DUI arrest by calling us at (310) 896-2723.
DUI Probation and Subsequent DUI Arrest in California
Drivers convicted of a DUI in California are often placed on probation for three-to-five years. While on probation, you will be expected to keep your blood alcohol content (BAC) well below the legal limit when you drive. In fact, you can violate your probation if your BAC exceeds 0.01%.
A subsequent DUI can be considered a probation violation in California. As you can see, you can also violate your probation if your BAC is below the legal limit. A probation violation can allow the court to:
- Increase your period of probation
- Add more restrictions to your probation
- Revoke your probation and send you to jail
Penalties for a Second DUI Offense in California
In addition to violating your probation, a second DUI in California will be considered a criminal act. DUIs are priorable, and each time you are arrested the penalties will grow more severe. A second conviction for a basic DUI in California can result in:
- Fines of up to $2,500
- Jail time of up to one year
- DUI classes for up to 30 months
You may also have your license suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) after a second DUI offense. Make sure you take any DUI charge in California seriously by contacting a criminal defense lawyer now at (310) 896-2723.
License Suspensions for a Second DUI Offense in California
The DMV can automatically suspend your license after you are arrested for a DMV. You have 10 days after your arrest to request a hearing to prevent this automatic suspension. A criminal defense lawyer can help you handle this hearing, which may be harder to resolve successfully for a second DUI charge.
The court system can also restrict your driving privileges if you are convicted of a second DUI. California requires all drivers convicted of two or more DUIs to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles.
IIDs are personal breathalyzer devices. They will measure your BAC before you start your vehicle. If they detect alcohol, they will not allow you to start your vehicle. You will need to maintain an IID on your vehicle for:
- One year for a second basic DUI conviction
- Two years for a second DUI causing injury conviction
You are not legally allowed to drive a vehicle without an IID after a second DUI conviction in California.
Legal Options to Handle a Second DUI Offense in California
You don’t have to try to deal with a second DUI offense in California on your own. You can secure professional help quickly by reaching out to the Simmrin Law Group. Allow us to focus on your legal needs today. We’re ready to take steps to get:
- Your charges dismissed
- Your charges reduced
- Your charges resolved in court
Handling second DUI offenses in California often requires a lawyer to dispute the validity of your BAC test. A DUI lawyer in Los Angeles could argue that your BAC was performed improperly, or that the technicians at the laboratory did not complete the tests correctly.
Your lawyer can also help you handle accusations of violating your probation, if you were on DUI probation at the time of your arrest. While a probation violation may not be as severe as a conviction for a second DUI, the Simmrin Law Group takes these accusations seriously. We’re ready to help with all your legal needs right now.
A Legal Professional Can Help with a Second DUI Offense
Make sure you understand your second DUI offense in California by contacting the Simmrin Law Group. You can easily reach out to our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles to get professional advice about the best way to resolve your charges. We’re ready to offer you a FREE case evaluation to discuss the specific charges you are facing after a DUI arrest.
Contact us by completing our online contact form or calling (310) 896-2723.