Drug crimes in California can lead to severe repercussions. You could be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor or a felony for these offenses, possibly resulting in fines, probation, and time in jail or prison. If you’re facing drug charges in Long Beach, California, you don’t have to fight them alone. Talking to a Long Beach drug crimes lawyer can help you protect your future.
The Simmrin Law Group has lawyers with ample experience fighting drug crimes cases. We know the ins and outs of California law as well as the strategies used by prosecutors. We work with misdemeanor and felony offenses, and we have a history of success in the courtroom.
California Has Many Drug Crimes, Get Help from Lawyers in Long Beach
No matter the specific drug crime you’ve been charged with, an experienced defense attorney may be able to offer you assistance. Our law group has experience dealing with a wide variety of drug crimes, including misdemeanors, felonies, and wobblers, or crimes that might be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor.
The laws related to drug crimes can be complex and confusing. Infractions can blend together, making it difficult for you to fight the charges you’re facing. Even the possession of small amounts of illicit substances can lead to serious fines or time in jail. Working with experienced drug crimes lawyers can improve your odds in and out of court.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Long Beach, call (310) 896-2723
Laws Concerning Drug Possession in California
California’s drug possession laws make it illegal to possess many controlled substances. This means you can’t carry these substances on your person or keep them in another location. You are only excepted from this law if you have a prescription for the drug.
The controlled substances covered by these laws include depressants, hallucinogens, opiates, steroids, and stimulants. California also has unique laws specifically related to:
- Possession of Meth
- Possession of Vicodin
Note that drug possession charges are usually a misdemeanor in California, unless you were previously convicted for other serious crimes, such as manslaughter or murder. If you are convicted of a drug possession misdemeanor, you might face up to:
- $1,000 in fines
- 1 year in a county jail
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Possession for Sale Charges in Long Beach
Drug possession crimes related to personal use are usually treated as misdemeanors in California, but you can face harsher penalties if you are charged with any crime related to selling a drug. You may face charges even if you did not actually sell anything.
A possession for sale charge in California is most often considered a felony. If you are charged with a felony possession for sale charge, you could face up to:
- $20,000 in fines
- 2-4 years in a state prison
California also has an intent to sell marijuana charge. Unlike other possession for sale charges, this crime is typically treated as a misdemeanor. This means the penalties you face will not be as severe. You might be sent to jail for up to 6 months or fined up to $500.
Dealing with charges related to possession or the sale of controlled substances can be tricky, especially with changes to California’s legal codes. Working with a lawyer with courtroom experience with these types of charges can provide you with the assistance you need.
Click to contact our Long Beach Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Penalties for Drug Trafficking in Long Beach
Federal laws govern drug trafficking crimes in California. This means that if you face drug trafficking charges you will have to deal with the DEA (Drug Enforcement Agency). These crimes usually involving moving or selling large amounts of illicit substances, such as heroin, cocaine, or methamphetamine.
The penalties for drug trafficking can be very high. Even a first offense could result in fines of up to $5 million and prison time of 5-40 years. These penalties can be much higher depending on the amount of drugs you are found with.
A drug crimes lawyer in Long Beach can help you deal with drug charges on a state or federal level, giving you someone in your corner.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
California Has Unique Laws for Marijuana
The state of California does not treat marijuana and other drugs in exactly the same way. Laws related to marijuana are very complicated and can be difficult to understand. It is now technically legal to grow small amounts of marijuana for your own personal use.
However, you may still be charged with marijuana cultivation if you:
- Grow more than you are legally allowed.
- Sell or give away what you have grown.
Marijuana cultivation charges are typically misdemeanors. They can result in no more than 6 months in a county jail and a fine of no more than $500.
California also has charges for possession of concentrated cannabis. Note that you are allowed to possess this type of marijuana for personal use in certain small amounts if you are over the age of 21. However, you are not allowed to sell it or produce large amounts of it. If you are charged with this crime, it is generally treated as a misdemeanor.
California’s Drug Paraphernalia Laws
You may also face drug paraphernalia charges in California. These charges are tied to tools or implements used to take drugs. They could be used to inject or smoke a controlled substance. Some examples are:
- Cocaine spoons
- Pipes for cocaine
You are in some cases allowed to possess these tools if they are for personal or medical use. In other cases, drug paraphernalia possession is treated as a misdemeanor that can lead to $1,000 in fines or 6 months in county jail.
No matter what charges you’re facing, working with a skilled attorney might be able to bolster your odds of winning in court.
A Long Beach Drug Crimes Lawyer Help You
Our Long Beach drug crimes attorneys are familiar with the California court system and can help you fight both misdemeanor and felony charges. We might be able to lower your fines or jail time, or even get the charges against you dropped completely. You can get in contact with our experienced legal team for a FREE consultation by calling us at (310) 997-4688 or filling out the form to the right.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form