You must carry proof of insurance when you operate a motor vehicle in Glendale, CA. In fact, driving without insurance is considered a criminal act. You can face high fines if you are stopped by a police officer while operating a motor vehicle without insurance.
The Simmrin Law Group can defend you if you are accused of driving without insurance. Reach out to our driving without insurance lawyers in Glendale now to get answers to your legal questions. Focus on your defense today by calling us at (310) 896-2723.
The Laws on Driving Without Insurance in Glendale
California requires all drivers to obtain proof of insurance before operating a vehicle. The exact regulations on insurance for drivers can be found in Vehicle Code Section 16020. Per VC 16020, you can face criminal charges if you do not have evidence of financial responsibility, which can include:
- Paperwork from your car insurance company
- A certificate of self-insurance if you are a self-insurer
- A deposit letter issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
- A surety bond provided by a licensed company
Most people are familiar with car insurance as a form of financial responsibility. Certificates of self-insurance and deposit letters from the DMV are used less frequently. Some licensed companies will allow you to purchase surety bonds for $35,000 which can serve as proof of financial responsibility for drivers.
You may obtain a certificate of self-insurance from the DMV if you can provide proof that you can cover the costs of an accident. You may also leave a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV. The DMV can provide you with proof of this deposit, which counts as insurance for legal purposes in Glendale.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Glendale, call (310) 896-2723
Minimum Levels of Car Insurance in Glendale
We’ve discussed the minimum amount you have to pay to get self-insurance or a surety bond in the state of California. If you choose to obtain car insurance through an insurance company, instead, you must meet different minimum standards.
Drivers who purchase car insurance must ensure their policy provides at least:
- $5,000 for property damage coverage
- $15,000 for injury or death for one person
- $30,000 for injury or death of multiple people
Note that you can be convicted of driving without insurance if you have insurance that does not meet these minimum standards. Get help handling these charges from a traffic violations lawyer in Glendale. Just call (310) 896-2723 to get started.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
Driving on a Lapsed Insurance Policy in Glendale
You may wonder if you can face criminal charges for driving a vehicle with an insurance policy with a past-due bill. The state of California considers it a criminal act to operate a motor vehicle without valid and current insurance.
Similarly, you may be charged with driving without insurance if you have insurance and merely forgot your insurance card when you left the house. You must be able to present a law enforcement officer with proof of insurance when asked to avoid these criminal charges.
Driving a Friend’s Car Without Proof of Insurance
You should be aware that you can be charged with driving without insurance even if you are not operating a vehicle that you own. As the person operating the vehicle, Glendale considers it your responsibility to ensure you are driving with valid insurance.
Make sure that you know where the insurance paperwork is before you operate a friend’s vehicle to avoid criminal charges.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Results of a Conviction for Driving Without Insurance
Driving without insurance does not generally lead to time behind bars in Glendale. Instead, the court may:
- Force you to pay fines and other fees
- Impound your vehicle
- Suspend your driver’s license
The fines for driving without insurance can start at $100 but can easily cost more than $2,500. Note that you will not always have your driver’s license suspended for driving without insurance. Often, the DMV will only take steps to restrict your license if you caused an accident while driving without insurance.
A driving without insurance lawyer in Glendale can help you construct a strong defense to accusations that you were driving without insurance. Avoid fines, the loss of your vehicle, and a driver’s license suspension by contacting the Simmrin Law Group now.
Call a Glendale Driving Without Insurance Lawyer Now
The Simmrin Law Group can help if you are accused of driving without insurance in Glendale. Find out more about your legal options by contacting us immediately. Get the assistance you need from legal professionals by calling (310) 896-2723 or filling out our online contact form.
Our driving without insurance lawyers in Glendale can provide you with a FREE case evaluation.