Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs and/or alcohol is a criminal act in California.
So, what happens if you get a DUI while on probation in California? You can face criminal charges. You can also have your probation revoked. This could lead to jail time.
Find out more by calling us at (310) 896-2723. Our team at the Simmrin Law Group is standing by to help you out.
Basic Information About Probation in California
Probation is a punishment used in many criminal cases here in Los Angeles. People on probation don’t have to remain in jail. They are allowed to go about their daily lives, as long as they adhere to the orders of the court.
Rules on probation are not the same in all cases. However, in many situations, the court will order individuals to:
- Commit no further criminal acts
- Attend various classes, such as anger management classes
- Meet with a probationary officer
- Get and keep a job
Individuals who fail to follow these regulations can face charges for a probation violation. Probation violations are treated very seriously in the state of California.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
DUI Probation and Additional DUI Charges in Los Angeles
Drivers convicted of a DUI are eligible to get probation. However, they face a number of special regulations while on probation. These drivers must:
- Take all DUI breath or blood alcohol tests if they are stopped by police officers
- Not drive if they have any measurable amount of alcohol in their system
California has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers on DUI probation. This means that drivers can face another DUI arrest even if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is under the normal legal limit for the state (0.08%).
Vehicle Code (VEH) §23600 deals with this zero-tolerance policy.
People can face DUI charges if their BAC is under 0.08% if they are on DUI probation. People also face the immediate suspension of their driver’s license if they refuse a BAC test while on DUI probation.
Results of a Probation Violation in Los Angeles
The court handles probation violations very seriously. After a probation violation, a judge can choose to revoke your probation and send you to jail. The judge could also:
- Add additional conditions to your probation
- Extend your period of probation
However, you should know that there are other concerns if you are accused of a DUI while on probation.
DUIs are criminal offenses. This means you can face additional charges for committing a DUI. A first time DUI conviction can lead to:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- The use of an ignition interlock device (IID)
However, these are not the only penalties for a DUI in our state. DUIs are priorable offenses. This means they count against you if you are charged with a subsequent DUI.
Let’s say you were on DUI probation in Los Angeles. You were arrested and charged with a second DUI while on probation. You could face:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Jail time of up to one year
- Use of an IID for at least a year
We’re here to help you understand the results of a probation violation.
Handle a DUI While on Probation in California
Getting a DUI while on probation can lead to criminal charges. We’re here to help you handle these charges. Our team knows how to deal with DUI accusations in and out of the court system.
Contact us if you are interested in building a defense. We’ll work to get handle all of your legal needs now.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Find Out What Happens if You Get a DUI on Probation
Want to know what will happen if you get a DUI while on probation in California? You can end up facing criminal charges in this situation.
Contact the Simmrin Law Group and build a defense if you are accused of a DUI. Our DUI lawyers in Los Angeles are standing by to help you now. We’ll discuss your situation with a free consultation.
Contact us now by calling (310) 896-2723. You can also complete our online contact form.