The court system in Seal Beach can hand down harsh punishments if you are accused of driving under the influence (DUI). You could face misdemeanor or felony charges following a DUI accusation. A conviction could result in:
- Jail time
- The loss of your driver’s license
- Time in an alcohol treatment program
Take your DUI charges in Seal Beach seriously by contacting the Simmrin Law Group following an arrest. A DUI lawyer in Seal Beach is standing by to begin working on your defense.
Seal Beach DUIs: DUI Testing
You could be charged with a DUI after being stopped by a law enforcement officer in Seal Beach. An officer should only stop your vehicle if they have reasonable cause to believe you are operating a vehicle under the influence. Once you are stopped, the officer could request that you perform a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test.
You must carry out PAS testing if you are:
- Under 21
- On DUI probation
However, drivers over 21 may legally decline a PAS test. However, you must legally comply with all testing if you are arrested. Make sure you understand your legal rights in a DUI traffic stop by working with a criminal defense lawyer in Seal Beach.
For a free legal consultation with a dui lawyer serving Seal Beach, call (310) 928-9347
Seal Beach DUIs: Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
DUI testing is often designed to measure your BAC. Law enforcement officers can use breath, blood, or urine tests to measure BAC. However, urine testing should only occur if breath or blood testing is unavailable.
BAC testing plays a large role in DUI arrests as it allows officers to determine if a driver exceeds the legal limit outlined in California. You could be arrested for a DUI if your BAC is at or above:
- 01% if you are under 21
- 04% if you are a commercial driver
- 08% if you are over 21
However, you should be aware that BAC tests can return inaccurate results. Your lawyer could be able to dispute the results of your BAC assessment while building a defense for you in Seal Beach.
Seal Beach DUI Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Seal Beach DUIs: Conviction Results
The court system in Seal Beach treats DUIs very seriously. Let’s review the penalties you can face if you are convicted of a DUI in the state of California:
Fines for DUIs:
- First Offense: Up to $2,000
- Second Offense: Up to $2,500
- Third Offense: Up to $3,000
Jail Time for DUIs:
- First Offense: Up to six months
- Second Offense: Up to one year
- Third Offense: Up to one year
License Suspension for DUIs:
- First Offense: Up to one year
- Second Offense: Up to two years
- Third Offense: Up to three years
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Seal Beach DUIs: the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
The DMV plays an important role in DUI proceedings in Seal Beach and throughout California. Law enforcement officers can take your driver’s license if you are arrested for a DUI and send it to the DMV, where it will be destroyed, per DUI law in Seal Beach, CA.
The DMV can then automatically suspend your license within 30 days of arrest. You can attempt to halt this automatic suspension by requesting a DMV hearing within 10 days of the time you are arrested.
Get help handling your DMV hearing by speaking with a traffic violations lawyer in Seal Beach. The professionals at the Simmrin Law Group can advise you on the best ways to handle your DMV hearing and license suspension.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Seal Beach DUIs: Your Legal Options
You don’t have to try to handle Seal Beach DUI charges alone. You can get professional help by contacting the Simmrin Law Group today. Our Seal Beach DUI lawyers are ready to:
- Stand up for you during legal interviews
- Assess the facts surrounding your case
- Work to dispute evidence against you
- Go over any plea bargains offered by prosecutors
- Focus on getting your charges reduced or dismissed
- Construct a strong defense for you
We understand what it takes to resolve DUI charges successfully in Seal Beach. Let us provide you with the comprehensive legal support you need following a DUI arrest. Our team can handle your criminal case and DMV hearing, so contact us immediately.
Why You Must Fight a DUI Charge
It is imperative that you fight a DUI charge with the help of our Seal Beach DUI attorneys at the Simmrin Law Group. Fighting alone only increases the risk of a conviction, which means you will face fines, jail time, and lengthy license suspensions.
Your life will be thrown into upheaval if convicted of DUI in California. Without a license, you cannot drive yourself to work and any other destination. Relying on others or public transportation to get to work can become troublesome, which could lead to unemployment.
If you find yourself unemployed, you could be denied housing if you apply to rent an apartment. Landlords run all types of checks on applicants, and if it returns with a DUI conviction, you might be denied for fear that you will not be able to pay the rent. For all of these reasons and more, you need our experienced Seal Beach DUI attorneys on your side immediately.
Take Charge with a DUI Attorney in Seal Beach
Build a strong defense against DUI charges in Seal Beach by working with the Simmrin Law Group. Get professional help immediately after our DUI lawyers in Seal Beach arrest you. We can even offer you a FREE case evaluation to review your unique legal situation.
Find out more about how we can help by calling or completing our online contact form.