Stun Guns and Tasers in California
Stun guns and tasers are weapons often used for defense in California. Many people carry these with them, especially if they believe they are going to a dangerous area. Stun guns and tasers are often seen as non-deadly forms of self-defense.
However, these weapons can still injure other people. They expend an electric charge that can be dangerous if misused. For this reason, the state of California has regulations regarding stun gun and taser ownership.
The Facts About PC 22610
PC 22610 details which individuals are not legally allowed to own a stun gun or taser in the state of California. Individuals cannot buy, own, or utilize a stun gun or taser if they are convicted of:
- A felony
- A crime that involves assault
- The prior misuse of a stun gun or taser
Individuals with a narcotics addiction cannot legally own, buy, or use a stun gun or taser. There are also regulations on the age for ownership of these weapons. In most cases, people younger than 16 years old cannot buy or own a stun gun or taser. However, exceptions may be made for minors who have written parental consent.
You should also know that it is illegal to sell a stun gun or taser to individuals under 16 years old in most cases. However, store owners can sell these weapons to a minor who provides written proof of parental consent. Find out how to fight PC 22610 charges with the Simmrin Law Group.
Penalties for PC 22610 Convictions
The court does not always handle PC 22610 charges in the same way. Individuals typically face an infraction for a first-time offense. Infractions are relatively minor offenses. A conviction for an infraction usually only leads to a fine of $50.
However, PC 22610 charges grow more serious for repeat offenders. Individuals can face misdemeanor charges for second and subsequent PC 22610 violations. A misdemeanor conviction can lead to more serious penalties, including:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to six months
- Summary probation
A weapons charges lawyer in Los Angeles can help you if you’re accused of an infraction or a misdemeanor. The Simmrin Law Group understands how to handle these charges and knows which defense will work best in your case.
Charges Similar to the Possession of a Stun Gun or Taser
There are many other laws used to regulate weapon ownership in the state of California. Many weapons are “generally prohibited” in California. This means that the state restricts ownership of these weapons for all but a few people. Examples of these weapons include:
- Wallet guns
- Brass knuckles
- Air gauge knives
There are many different kinds of restricted weapons in California. No matter what restricted weapons charge you’re facing, the Simmrin Law Group can help.
Defenses Against a PC 22610 Accusation in California
A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help if you have been accused of the illegal possession of a stun gun or taser. If applicable, we can work to demonstrate that you were legally allowed to own the weapon by showing that you:
- Had parental permission (if you are under 16 years old)
- Were never convicted of a felony or assault crime
- Are not addicted to narcotics
You did Not Have a Stun Gun or Taser
We can also work to show that you did not have a stun gun or taser if that was the case. Perhaps you had a toy that looked like one of these weapons. If the item does not emit an electric charge, you may be able to avoid a conviction under PC 22610. Contact us for help today.
You Were the Victim of an Unlawful Search and Seizure
There are rules that the police must follow when performing their duties. If a law enforcement officer fails to uphold these rules and regulations, any evidence they uncover while doing so could be inadmissible. The Fourth Amendment protects against unlawful search and seizures.
If you are not allowed to own a stun gun or taser, but one was uncovered in your possession during an illegal search, your defense attorney will move to have the evidence suppressed. They may even succeed in getting your case dismissed outright.
Can a Conviction Under Penal Code 22610 Be Expunged?
If you are convicted of violating California PC Section 22610, you might be able to get the charge expunged. If the charge is processed as a misdemeanor, you must complete any jail sentence or probation period before your record can be expunged. A criminal defense lawyer can help you petition the court to have the charge stricken from your record.
Does a Conviction for Violating PC 22610 Affect Gun Rights?
A conviction of Penal Code 22610 alone will not affect your gun ownership rights. However, if you use a stun gun or a taser in the act of committing a violent crime, your gun rights could be revoked. Talk to a criminal defense lawyer to find out more.
Ask a Lawyer About Fighting Penal Code 22610 Charges Now
We can help you begin working on your defense if you have been accused of the unlawful ownership of a stun gun or taser. Let the Simmrin Law Group help you handle Penal Code 22610 accusations, whether you’ve been accused of an infraction or a misdemeanor.
Find out how a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help by completing our online contact form. You can also call us today for a free consultation. We will review the details of your situation, answer all your questions, and provide advice on the best way to proceed with your case. Let us help you fight back against a Penal Code Section 22610 charge.