Child sexual abuse is taken very seriously in the state of California. Any sex act involving a child under the age of 18 qualifies as the sexual abuse of a minor. However, these crimes are treated more harshly when they involve younger children.
Penal Code 288.7 is an example of a particularly harsh criminal charge. PC 288.7 is used to prosecute sexual acts with a child under 10. This crime can lead to life in prison in California.
How California Defines Sexual Acts with a Child Under 10
Any sex act involving a child under 10 could lead to PC 288.7 charges in California. The state defines these sex acts as:
The court defines oral copulation as the touching of the sexual organs or anus of another person with one’s mouth.
Sexual intercourse is defined as one party using his penis to penetrate the other party’s genitalia or vagina.
Sexual acts can also involve foreign objects. Inserting an object into a child’s anus or genitalia is against the law in California.
Sodomy refers to the act of penetrating a child’s anus with a penis. Performing any of the above acts on a child or minor is against the law in California.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving California, call (310) 896-2723
Penalties for Sexual Acts with a Child Under 10
Performing a sexual act with a child under 10 is a felony in California. However, this charge is now always handled the same way. The penalties can vary depending on the kind of sex act performed.
Oral Copulation and Sexual Penetration
Charges of oral copulation of penetration of a child under 10 can lead to a minimum of 15 years in state prison. However, the court can sentence an individual to life in prison in some cases.
Sexual Intercourse or Sodomy
Individuals accused of sodomy or sexual intercourse face a minimum of 25 years in prison. They could face life in prison, depending on the judgment of the court.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
A PC 288.7 Conviction in California
There are several penalties associated with a PC 288.7 conviction in addition to jail time. Individuals could face fines or court fees. Further, anyone convicted under PC 288.7 must register as a sex offender. Individuals must remain on the sex offender registry for the rest of their life.
Individuals must update their registry on a yearly basis. They must also update the registry each time they move. It is a crime to fail to register as a sex offender in California. This could lead to additional criminal charges.
A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help you understand failure to register as a sex offender charges. Reach out to a lawyer by calling (310) 997-4688. A member of our team can help you review this charge.
There are several charges similar to PC 288.7 in California. Individuals can face charges for:
- Oral copulation on a minor
- Lewd acts on a child
- Continuous sexual abuse of a child
Click to contact our California Penal Code today
Legal Defenses against a Sexual Acts with a Child Under 10 Charge
Accusations for sexual acts with a child under 10 can be disputed in California. A sex crimes lawyers in Los Angeles can help you build a defense.
The Victim Was Over 10 Years Old
PC 288.7 charges only apply if the alleged victim was under the age of 10 at the time of the offense. This applies if the child has not yet had their 10th birthday. After the child turns 10, PC 288.7 charges no longer apply. However, other charges for child sexual abuse may still apply.
No Sexual Acts Were Performed
If you touched a child in a way that was innocent or not sexual in nature, then we can help you fight a PC 288.7 conviction. A lawyer can help you show that no sexual acts actually occurred.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Let Us Help You Fight a Sexual Acts with a Child Under 10 Charge
You could face serious legal repercussions if you are convicted under Penal Code 288.7. Performing sexual acts with a child under 10 is a felony in California. A criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles can help you handle these charges. Reach out to the Simmrin Law Group for a free consultation.
Contact us now by calling (310) 997-4688 or by filling out our online contact form.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form