The state of California restricts the possession of armor-piercing ammunition. Individuals or corporations that have this kind of ammunition can face charges under Penal Code §30315. The court classifies this offense as a wobbler, meaning it can lead to:
- Misdemeanor charges
- Felony charges
The Simmrin Law Group is here to help you learn more about both misdemeanor and felony offenses. This charge can lead to fines and a lengthy period of incarceration. Call us today at (310) 997-4688 to learn more about the possession of armor-piercing ammunition.
Defining Armor-Piercing Ammunition in California
Understanding the definition of armor-piercing ammunition makes it easier to understand PC 30315 accusations in California. Armor-piercing ammunition is a kind of munition. It is specifically designed to pierce a body shield or “bulletproof” vest.
Armor-piercing ammunition generally uses more steel than other ammunition. In fact, this type of ammunition is sometimes called:
- Steel jacketed ammunition
- Steel core ammunition
California specifically restricts armor-piercing ammunition designed for use in handguns, not other kinds of firearms. Handguns include weapons like pistols and revolvers. Rifles and shotguns are not considered handguns in the state of California.
Restrictions on the Ownership of Armor-Piercing Ammunition
Individuals and corporations are not allowed to own armor-piercing ammunition throughout the state of California. A person should only face this charge if they knowingly had possession of armor-piercing ammunition.
This means that a person can avoid a criminal conviction if they were unaware that they had armor-piercing ammunition. Sometimes, individuals are given ammunition without being informed of its armor-piercing capabilities. In this case, they should not get convicted under PC 30315.
Penalties for Possession of Armor-Piercing Ammunition
Possession of armor-piercing ammunition is a wobbler in California. Wobblers are sometimes treated as misdemeanors. In other situations, the prosecution files these charges as felonies. The prosecution has the right to decide how to treat these charges, based on:
- The individual’s past criminal record
- The facts of the current case
Misdemeanor and felony convictions are not treated in the same way in California. Individuals convicted of a misdemeanor can expect to face;
- Fines of up to $5,000
- Incarceration of up to one year
Felony charges receive more serious treatment from the court system here in Los Angeles. Felony convictions often lead to:
- Fines of up to $5,000
- Incarceration of up to three years
A weapons charges lawyer in Los Angeles can provide you with more information about both misdemeanor and felony accusations. Reach out to us at (310) 997-4688. Our team at the Simmrin Law Group can provide you with the legal advice that you want.
Firearm Ownership and a PC 30315 Conviction
Felony convictions lead to a longer period of incarceration than misdemeanor charges. Felony convictions also have other repercussions in the state of California. Individuals convicted of a felony will lose their firearm ownership rights. This means that after a felony conviction, individuals cannot legally:
- Own a gun
- Buy a gun
- Possess a gun
Individuals convicted of a felony only have a limited period of time to turn their firearms over to law enforcement. Failure to properly turn over firearms can result in additional criminal charges in California. Some people face charges under Penal Code §29800. PC 29800 represents California’s “felon with a firearm” law.
Felons who are found with firearms can face additional felony charges. These charges can lead to additional years of time behind bars. Keep these restrictions in mind when facing PC 30315 charges in Los Angeles.
Charges Similar to PC 303015
The court system in California uses a number of charges that are similar to PC 30315. These charges restrict the ownership or possession of other firearms. For example, individuals can face charges under:
- Penal Code §30600, for the possession of assault weapons and rifles
- Penal Code §30605, for the possession of an assault weapon
- Penal Code §30610, for the possession of a .50 BMG rifle
Our state also restricts the ownership of general firearms. Individuals in California are not legally permitted to carry firearms in public without a concealed carry weapon (CCW) permit. These permits are difficult to acquire. Individuals who carry weapons can face additional criminal charges.
The use of a weapon to hurt or kill another person will lead to very severe charges. Individuals can face charges for battery or even murder if they use a firearm on another person. A violent crimes lawyer in Los Angeles can help you in this situation.
Defenses for Possession of Armor-Piercing Ammunition
There are defenses that work to handle PC 30315 charges in the state of California. You can review these options with a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles. Members of our team are fully prepared to argue that you:
Did Not Know You Had Armor-Piercing Ammunition
PC 30315 charges should only apply if an individual knowingly possesses armor-piercing ammunition. This means you could avoid a conviction if you were given armor-piercing ammunition without your knowledge. Inform your lawyer if you are in this situation.
Didn’t Actually Have Armor-Piercing Ammunition
There are many different kinds of ammunition in California. Only a few kinds of ammunition are classified as “armor-piercing.” Your lawyer can work to show that the ammunition in your possession does not meet the definition of “armor-piercing ammunition.”
Were Subjected to an Illegal Police Search
You have constitutional rights here in California. This means that police officers can only search you and your home in specific circumstances. Evidence found through an illegal search is often blocked during court proceedings. Your case could get dismissed if the police violated your constitutional rights to find armor-piercing ammunition.
Ask A Lawyer About Penal Code 30315 Charges
Charges with possession of armor-piercing ammunition in California? The Simmrin Law Group is here to help you handle Penal Code §30315 charges. You can easily contact us to get a free consultation about your legal options. We’ll work to build a defense for you. Let a Los Angeles criminal defense lawyer take steps to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Find out more by calling (310) 997-4688. We also have an online contact form for you.