There are a number of criminal charges in the state of California used to prosecute drivers who operate a motor vehicle on a suspended or revoked license. These charges can include:
- California Vehicle Code Section 14601: Driving On A Suspended Or Revoked License
- California Vehicle Code Section 14601.2: Driving With Suspended License For DUI Conviction
- California Vehicle Code Section 14601.4: Driving On A Suspended Or Revoked License And Causing Bodily Injury
- California Vehicle Code Section 14601.5: Driving On A Suspended Or Revoked License Caused By Refusal Or Specified Blood Alcohol Level
You can focus specifically on California Vehicle Code Section 14601.4: Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License and Causing Bodily Injury with this article. Go over the penalties for a conviction and common legal defenses right now with the Simmrin Law Group.
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License and Causing Bodily Injury: Definition
Drivers may face VC 14601.4 charges if they:
- Have Their License Suspended or Revoked for Specific DUI Charges
- Are Aware That Their License was Suspended or Revoked
- Operate Their Motor Vehicle Anyway
- Engage in an Unlawful Act or Ignore a Legal Duty and Thereby Injure Someone Else
The court system in California may only use VC 14601.4 charges if the driver had their license revoked or suspended due to a conviction for:
- California Vehicle Code Section 23152: Driving Under The Influence Of Alcohol
- California Vehicle Code Section 23153: DUI Causing Injury
Note that drivers are considered to be aware that their license was suspended or revoked if the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) sent them a notice of this suspension or revocation.
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License and Causing Bodily Injury: Penalties
The courts in California can harshly punish drivers who are convicted under VC 14601.4. The penalties for a first-time VC 14601.4 conviction can include:
- Fines of Up to $1,000
- Jail Time of Up to Six Months
A driver subsequently convicted of VC 14601.4 again within a five-year period can face harsher penalties, such as:
- Fines of Up to $2,000
- Jail Time of Up to One Year
Additionally, the court can order drivers convicted of driving on a suspended or revoked license and causing bodily injuries to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their motor vehicle for up to three years.
An IID can measure a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC). If the driver’s BAC is above the state’s legal limit, the IID will not allow the vehicle to start or operate.
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License and Causing Bodily Injury: Legal Defenses
You can boost your odds of beating a VC 14601.4 charge by reaching out to a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles as soon as you are arrested. A legal professional may be able to go over the facts of your case to build your defense. Common legal defenses for a VC 14601.4 charge can include:
You Did Not Cause the Accident That Led to the Injuries
You should not face a VC 14601.4 conviction if you were operating your vehicle in a safe way at the time of the collision. If someone else’s actions caused the accident and you were not neglecting your duty or performing another illegal act, you should not be convicted under VC 14601.4. However, you could still be convicted for driving on a suspended or revoked license.
You Did Not Know Your License was Suspended or Revoked
The court system should only convict you under VC 14601.4 if you were aware that your license had been suspended or revoked. This means that you could avoid a conviction if the DMV failed to mail you a notice of suspension regarding your license.
Your License was Not Suspended or Revoked for DUI Charges
VC 14601.4 charges apply specifically if your license was suspended or revoked after a DUI conviction. This means that if you lost your driving privileges for another reason, you should not be convicted under VC 14601.4. However, you could be subjected to other criminal charges.
Defend Against VC 14601.4 Charges with a Professional Legal Team
Handling a California Vehicle Code Section 14601.4: Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License and Causing Bodily Injury accusation can be much easier if you have professional help from a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles. You can contact the legal team at the Simmrin Law Group now by filling out our online contact form or calling (310) 896-2723.
Start focusing on your defense today by reaching out to us for a FREE initial case evaluation.