It is critical for motor vehicle drivers in California to understand Vehicle Code 22450 and the special stops it requires. If not, you may find yourself facing severe fines and penalties for failing to stop at a traffic sign correctly.
If you are facing charges for violating California Vehicle Code (CVS) 22450: Special Stops Required, the defense attorneys at Simmrin Law Group can help. Our legal team represents California drivers and helps them seek justice for traffic violations.
Understanding California Vehicle Code 22450
CVC 22450 requires all drivers in the state of California to come to a complete stop when approaching a stop sign. The code does not permit rolling stops, and the motor vehicle must stop before entering an intersection’s limit line or crosswalk. If there is no limit line or crosswalk, the driver must stop at the entrance to the intersecting roadway.
The vehicle code also extends to stop signs in front of railroad crossings. When approaching a railroad grade, all drivers must stop at the limit line before crossing the first track. If there is no limit line, the driver must come to a complete stop at the entrance of the railroad grade crossing before proceeding.
In addition, CVC 22450 allows local authorities to place stop signs at any location along a highway as long as it is within their jurisdiction and enhances traffic safety.
What to Know About CVC 22450 Traffic Violations
If you get pulled over for not coming to a complete stop, a police officer may write you a ticket for violating California VC 22450: Special Stops Required. The fine for this type of infraction is $238, not including additional court fees and assessments. Once you receive a ticket, you have three options:
- Pay the fine and all associated costs
- Fight the ticket in court
- Attend a California traffic safety school program once every 18 months
The most significant advantage of participating in a traffic safety school is avoiding receiving points on your driving record. If you accept the charges and pay the fine, you will receive one point for violating CVC 22450.
Ignoring Your Ticket Leads to Additional Violations
If you refuse to pay the fines for your CVC 22450 stop sign violation, you must schedule a court hearing. Failing to schedule or appear at your court hearing will result in Vehicle Code 40508 charges: failure to appear in court on a traffic citation. And while stop sign violations are infractions, a VC 40508 charge constitutes a misdemeanor.
VC 40508 can result in fines of up to $1,000 and a six-month sentence in county jail. In addition, the state may withhold your driver’s license until you appear in court or pay all applicable fines. In some cases, a judge may suspend your driving privileges altogether.
You Can Hire an Attorney to Fight Your Stop Sign Charges
If you choose to fight your stop sign violation, do so with a qualified criminal defense lawyer by your side. Not only will your defense attorney understand California’s traffic laws, but they will also know the most effective defense strategies to reduce your charges.
Additionally, if you hire an attorney to represent your case, you do not have to be present during the court hearing.
Defenses to CVC 22450 Charges
When fighting a stop sign violation, the verdict comes down to your word against the police officer’s statement. Unfortunately, in most cases, the judge will side with the police officer.
But an experienced traffic violation lawyer can use various defense strategies to prove that you did not violate the law and get your charges dismissed.
The Stop Sign Is New
Your defense attorney can argue that you missed the new traffic stop if a stop sign was recently installed. Judges may be sympathetic to these circumstances, agreeing to reduce your fine or let you off with a warning as long as your lawyer shows evidence that the sign was recently installed.
The Stop Sign or Limit Line Was Not Clearly Visible
City officials have a duty to make stop signs and traffic lights visible for all road users. If poor lighting, vegetation, or construction materials obscured the stop sign, your lawyer can use this as a defense for violating CVC 22450.
Your attorney can use photos and videos to verify that the stop sign was not clearly visible. So, while you may have failed to come to a complete stop, your defense lawyer will argue that it was not your fault because of the obstructions.
The same rule of thought applies to crosswalks and limit lines. If you received a CVC 22450 violation for not stopping before a limit line or crosswalk, your attorney can prove that it was because the lines were not visible.
You Came to a Complete Stop Farther Back
CVC 22450 requires motor vehicle drivers to stop at the nearest limit line, crosswalk, or intersection entrance. However, some drivers stop before these markers. In these circumstances, a police officer may not have seen the driver come to a stop, therefore issuing a traffic violation.
Your lawyer can request a copy of the police officer’s notes to verify where the office was positioned when seeing the isolation. If the officer does not have notes, your lawyer can ask them to testify about their positioning during court. If the officer confirms they were far enough away to miss you coming to a complete stop, your CVC 22450 penalties may get dropped.
You Failed to Stop Due to an Emergency
If you had a valid excuse for running the stop sign, your attorney may use that as a defense. However, these types of defenses are reserved for emergencies, and you will likely have to submit evidence to prove that an emergency warranted your violation.
Fight Your Stop Sign Violation With Our Criminal Defense Attorneys
If you are facing violations for CVC 22450: Special Stops Required, let the legal professionals at Simmrin Law Group represent your case. Our criminal defense attorneys can review your claim and determine the most effective defense strategy for eliminating your charges. Contact us now for a free consultation.