Driving in California can be a challenge. Drivers have to deal with traffic, pedestrians, and other challenges. Some drivers may even face objects thrown at them while they operate their vehicles. Objects tossed into traffic can lead to disastrous accidents.
California Vehicle Code Section 23110: Throwing Substance at a Vehicle can be used to prosecute individuals who hurl things into the road. Find out more about the applications of VC 23110 charges right here with the Simmrin Law Group.
Throwing a Substance at a Vehicle: The Legal Definition
You likely have a very good idea of what throwing a substance at a vehicle in California would involve. This charge can apply anytime an individual throws any item at a:
- Motor Vehicle
- Motor Vehicle Occupant
Any self-propelled vehicle can be considered a motor vehicle in California. This includes cars, trucks, motorcycles, buses, and even motor scooters. Additionally, VC 23110 charges can apply on any highway. Highways in California can include any publicly maintained road or street.
Throwing a Substance at a Vehicle: Felony Charges
Throwing a substance at a vehicle can be treated as a misdemeanor or a felony in California. Misdemeanor charges can apply to any substance, as we mentioned above. Felony charges can be used only if an individual throws or projects a:
- Another Missile
- Substance That Can Do Serious Bodily Harm
Individuals must intend to cause a great bodily injury when they throw or project a dangerous object to face felony charges for throwing a substance at a vehicle. They must also act willfully to toss or throw an object at a vehicle or vehicle occupant.
Throwing a Substance at a Vehicle: Similar Charges
Throwing a substance at a vehicle can lead to property damage. This can lead to charges similar to Penal Code Section 594: Vandalism. Depending upon the substance thrown at a vehicle, this act can also lead to accidents, injuries, and even death. Charges for these outcomes can include:
- California Penal Code Section 192(a): Voluntary Manslaughter
- California Penal Code Section 192(b): Involuntary Manslaughter
- California Penal Code Section 187: Murder
Any accident that results in injuries should be taken especially seriously. Once a driver or passenger experiences physical harm, the court system generally treats throwing a substance at a vehicle very harshly.
Throwing a Substance at a Vehicle: Penalties for a Conviction
Misdemeanor and felony charges for throwing a substance at a vehicle are prosecuted differently in California’s court system. Let’s review the penalties for each of these charges right now:
- Fines: Up to $1,000
- Jail Time: Up to Six Months
- Fines: Up to $10,000
- Prison Time: Up to Three Years
Note that, if the substance hits the vehicle and causes serious injuries or a death, different and more severe criminal charges may apply, as we mentioned earlier.
Throwing a Substance at a Vehicle: Options for Legal Defenses
You do not need to handle VC 23110 charges on your own in California. You can get legal help in your corner right now by contacting a professional criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles. A lawyer can review all the facts surrounding your charges. Based on their findings, your lawyer could work to prove that:
You Didn’t Intend to Throw Something at a Vehicle
Accidents happen on the roads. For example, if you were driving your vehicle with the windows down and something flew out of your car, striking another vehicle unintentionally, you should not face charges under VC 23110, as this charge requires you to act purposefully.
You Weren’t Trying to Hurt Anyone When You Threw a Substance at a Vehicle
Felony charges for throwing a substance at a vehicle should only apply if you intended to harm someone with your actions. If you thought you were only playing a harmless joke when you tossed something at a vehicle or vehicle occupant, your charges could be reduced to a misdemeanor.
You Were Falsely Accused of Throwing a Substance at a Vehicle
It can be understandably difficult for the driver of a vehicle to correctly identify the individual who threw something at them. This is especially true if someone throws an item from the side of the road or from an overpass. If you are facing false accusations you can get professional help right now.
Handle VC 23110 Charges with a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Trying to deal with California Vehicle Code Section 23110: Throwing Substance at a Vehicle charges on your own can make it harder to win your case. Get the help you need building a strong defense by contacting the Simmrin Law Group now to get a FREE initial case evaluation.
You can contact us easily by calling (310) 997-4688 or completing our online contact form to speak with a Los Angeles criminal defense lawyer.