Escondido, CA strictly regulates the way people sell, carry, and use weapons. Individuals who are accused of violating these regulations can face serious charges in the courts. A conviction for a weapons charge violation can result in:
- Jail time
Make sure you are ready to take these charges seriously. Reach out to the Simmrin Law Group as soon as you are arrested. Our professional weapons charges lawyers in Escondido can get to work building a strong defense for your case right now.
Not Everyone Can Possess Firearms in Escondido
The U.S. Constitution gives citizens the right to keep and bear arms. However, individuals may lose this right in some situations. California’s Felon with a Firearm law allows the state to revoke your gun rights if you are:
- Convicted of a felony
- Convicted of some misdemeanors
- Suffering from a mental illness
- Addicted to certain illicit substances.
If you are found in possession of a firearm in this situation, you could face harsh criminal charges. You could even be charged with a federal gun crime in some cases. Let a criminal defense lawyer in Escondido help you deal with these charges.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Escondido, call (310) 928-9347
The Unlicensed Sale of Firearms Is Illegal
You might also face criminal charges if you sell, lease, or otherwise transfer the ownership of a firearm in Escondido without a license. You should be aware that there are some exceptions to this regulation, but, generally, a licensed professional must be involved with all gun sales in the state of California.
A conviction for the unlicensed sale of firearms can result in:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Jail time of up to six months
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Escondido’s Laws on Carrying a Weapon in Public
In many cases, people in Escondido are not allowed to carry dangerous weapons in public. Depending upon your situation, the court system could charge you with crimes such as:
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Carrying a loaded firearm
- Carrying an unloaded firearm
Note that you could face these charges even if you are carrying a firearm that cannot be fired. Fortunately, there are a number of exceptions to these charges. You may be legally allowed to carry a weapon while in public if you:
- Have a valid concealed carry permit (CCP)
- Are a member of a gun club
- Are a hunter
- Are working as a police officer, security guard, or in a similar career
- Are in the armed forces
A criminal defense lawyer can review your specific situation if you are arrested for carrying a weapon in public. Depending upon your circumstances, the charges you are facing could be dismissed completely, allowing you to move forward with your life. Note that you could be incarcerated for three years and fined up to $10,000 if you are convicted of carrying a weapon in public.
You Can Be Charged with Brandishing a Weapon
There are a number of charges you can face for using a weapon in Escondido. For example, you could be charged with brandishing a weapon if you are accused of:
- Drawing or displaying a deadly weapon around another person
- In a way that was threatening, angry, or rude OR
- During an argument or a fight.
Note that California has a very broad definition of deadly weapons. Any item that could cause a serious bodily injury or death could be considered a deadly weapon. This includes:
- All firearms
- Bladed weapons like knives
- Clubs and bats
- Improvised weapons like broken glass
- Some animals
- Power tools
- Incendiary devices.
You could face three years in prison and high fines if you are convicted of brandishing a weapon in Escondido.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Negligent Discharge Represents a Serious Criminal Act
Finally, you could face harsh penalties if you are accused of negligent discharge in Escondido. The court defines negligent discharge as:
- Willfully shooting a gun
- While demonstrating gross negligence
- In a way that could injure or kill someone else.
You must intentionally fire a weapon to be charged with negligent discharge. This means accidents should not result in negligent discharge accusations. A conviction for negligent discharge could result in three years of time behind bars and fines of up to $10,000.
An Escondido Weapons Charges Lawyer Can Help You
Make sure you’re ready to take on weapons charges in Escondido by speaking with the Simmrin Law Group today. Our team of professional weapons charges lawyers in Escondido are here to build your defense while they work to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Call us at (310) 997-4688 or fill out our online contact form to get a FREE consultation regarding your legal options.