You can end up sentenced to time in jail or prison and left with high fines to pay after a conviction for a weapons charge in Burbank. Dealing with a weapons charge on your own can be difficult. And attempting to do so would be inadvisable.
However, a weapons charges lawyer in Burbank can take on your case and build your defense. So, the best way to be ready to face any legal hurdle that comes your way is by working with the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group today.
How Can Burbank Weapons Charges Lawyers Help You?
A weapons charges lawyer can step in to assist you with all aspects of your case. Our team provides free consultations to individuals accused of weapons crimes, providing you with immediate advice and guidance.
Once you contact us, we take charge by:
- Standing up for you during questioning by police officers and prosecutors
- Protecting your rights during the police investigation
- Disputing evidence against you
- Helping with your bail hearing (if applicable)
Our team takes steps to have your charges dismissed if at all possible. In some cases, judges dismiss charges for lack of evidence or police misconduct.
We focus on reducing the charges you face in some cases. In these situations, we recommend our clients accept a plea bargain that reduces the penalties they would otherwise face. You can also count on us to stand up for you in court.
We’re proud to share our understanding of weapon laws in California with all our clients.
For a free legal consultation with a weapons charges lawyer serving Burbank, call (310) 896-2723
When Should You Contact a Burbank Weapons Charges Attorney?
The professionals often recommend reaching out to a Burbank weapons charges attorney immediately after an arrest. Securing legal assistance right away helps protect your rights and the strength of your defense.
Avoid discussing your charges with prosecutors or police officers before contacting a lawyer, as they can use what you say against you.
Burbank Weapons Charges Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
What Kind of Weapons Can Lead to Criminal Charges in Burbank?
The court system can harshly penalize you for carrying or using any kind of firearm in the Burbank area, including:
- Handguns and revolvers
- Rifles and shotguns
- Tasers and antique guns
You don’t even have to use a firearm to face steep penalties. You can end up fighting for your freedom in court for the use of many objects, including:
- Power tools
- Baseball bats
- Broken glass
Turn to a weapons charges lawyer in Burbank with years of experience defending individuals accused of weapons charges for professional help.
Click to contact our Burbank Criminal Defense Lawyers today
What Are Burbank’s Laws on Owning or Selling Firearms?
Many people don’t realize that owning a gun can be a crime in some situations. California has laws that prohibit people from selling or buying assault rifles, for example. Additionally, the felon with a firearm law (California Penal Code § 29800) makes it illegal for some people to own firearms at all.
You can also face criminal charges if you sell or lease a gun without first getting the proper license. There are a few exceptions to this rule, but they come with their own set of complicated rules that can make it difficult to obey the law.
Any time you participate in the unlicensed sale of firearms, you could end up in serious trouble. The courts in Burbank can fine you $1,000 and sentence you to 6 months of jail time for each gun sold or leased without a license.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Review Charges for Carrying a Firearm
The state of California sets harsh restrictions on who can carry firearms while in public. Generally, you must acquire a concealed carry permit (CCP) to have a gun without facing criminal charges. Without a CCP, you could face charges for:
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Carrying a loaded firearm
You can face charges for carrying a concealed weapon if you attempt to hide a gun (PC 25400) in your vehicle or on your person. You may use a locked container to carry a firearm while in public without an issue. California can be very harsh if the court convicts you of carrying a concealed weapon.
Some individuals think they can avoid a charge for carrying a concealed weapon by openly carrying their firearm. Unfortunately, this is not the case. You can face serious criminal charges for displaying a gun in California, especially if it is loaded. This charge applies even if the firearm is not functional.
Both carrying a loaded firearm and carrying a concealed weapon can lead to the following penalties:
- Fines: $10,000
- Jail time: Three years
You can get help handling these charges today from a criminal defense lawyer. The longer you delay, the more difficult it will be for your lawyer to build you a successful defense.
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon and Negligent Discharge in Burbank
Our Burbank weapons charges lawyers can help you with both brandishing a deadly weapon and negligent discharge accusations.
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon
Brandishing a deadly weapon is a serious offense that occurs when someone displays or takes out any weapon (PC 417) in a threatening way. Individuals can also face charges for brandishing a deadly weapon if they draw a weapon in a fight for no lawful reason.
The court can charge you with a misdemeanor or a felony for brandishing a deadly weapon. Depending on the weapon, you could end up facing the following penalties:
- Fines: $1,000
- Prison time: 16 months to three years
The court can also ban you from owning a firearm for the rest of your life.
Accusations of negligent discharge can apply if someone shoots a firearm in a reckless way that could lead to an injury or even death. However, you cannot be convicted of negligent discharge if your gun went off accidentally or if you discharged the firearm in self-defense.
The court can treat negligent discharge as a misdemeanor or a felony. A conviction can lead to:
- Fines: $1,000 to $10,000
- Jail time: One to three years
Working with a weapons charges lawyer can improve your odds of clearing your name. Get the help you need before it’s too late.
Let a Burbank Weapons Charges Lawyer Build Your Case
Fighting a weapons charge on your own can make it easier for prosecutors to secure a conviction. The Simmrin Law Group can provide you with professional care as you build your case.
Our weapons charges lawyers in Burbank know what you’re going through, and they’re ready to stand up for you. So, let us focus on your unique needs today with a FREE consultation. Call us or complete our online contact form.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form