Sex crime charges are used to punish many different acts in Burbank. You can face serious legal repercussions if you are accused of a sex crime, even if you are innocent. Getting help right away can greatly improve your chances of winning your case.
The Simmrin Law Group understands the legal system in California. Our sex crimes lawyers in Burbank have built their reputation on winning cases. Let us put our skills to work for you so you can move forward with your life.
Sex Crimes Involving Minors in Burbank
The court system in Burbank takes any crimes against children very seriously. Individuals who are accused of child molestation, child sexual abuse, or unlawful sexual activity with a minor can end up incarcerated and left with high fines.
You can also face harsh penalties if you are accused of:
- Seducing or Soliciting a Minor
- Traveling to Meet a Minor
- Creating, Owning, or Distributing Child Pornography
Dealing with accusations of sexual misconduct against a child can be incredibly difficult on your own. The court can be predisposed to assume your guilt. A skilled sex crime lawyer can protect you and build your case.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Burbank, call (310) 928-9347
Understanding Charges of Rape in Burbank
Burbank defines rape as forcing another person into non-consensual sex. Individuals can commit rape through the use of physical force, by making threats, or by blackmailing a victim. It is also rape if someone is forced into intercourse while:
Date rape is a term that is popularly used to refer to non-consensual sex acts that occurred between individuals who were romantically involved. These individuals may have had consensual sex previously. Date rape is not charged differently than other types of rape in Burbank.
You are not legally allowed to have sex with individuals who are younger than 18 in Burbank. Statutory rape occurs any time an adult has intercourse with someone under the age of majority. You can face harsh penalties for this act, even if the minor initiated the intercourse.
Rape is generally charged as a felony in Burbank, leading to 3-8 years in prison or a year in jail. You could face more severe charges if you are accused of raping a child or of causing serious injuries during the attack. Note that, as with many other sex crimes, you will likely have to pay restitution to the victim if you are convicted.
You can improve your chances of beating a rape charge by getting professional help as soon as possible. Working with a criminal defense lawyer in Burbank can give you the edge you need to defend yourself if you are falsely accused of rape.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Prostitution and Human Trafficking Charges in California
California considers the act of prostitution to be illegal. You can get in serious legal trouble if you perform a sex act in exchange for some form of payment. You can also face criminal charges for solicitation of a prostitute. You solicit a prostitute by offering payment for a sexual favor. You can be charged with solicitation of a prostitute even if you never go through with the sex act.
Any charge related to prostitution can lead to 180 days in jail. You could also be fined $1,000 if you are convicted of prostitution or solicitation of a prostitute.
Charges of human trafficking can lead to far more serious consequences. Individuals can be guilty of human trafficking if they deny someone else their liberty and then force them to commit crimes or other acts. Human trafficking is generally considered a sex crime because it can lead to:
- Sexual Exploitation of Children
- Sexual Slavery
Additional Sex Crime Charges
There are many other criminal acts that are considered sexual misconduct or sexual abuse. Many not are considered as serious as rape, including:
- Indecent Exposure
- Lewd Conduct
- Sexual Battery
Note that while these acts may not be punished as harshly as rape, they still come with serious repercussions if you are convicted. You will be incarcerated, fined, and likely required to join California’s sex offender registry.
Individuals can face criminal charges for failure to register as a sex offender. You can be fined $10,000 and sentenced to 3 additional years in prison if you do not properly register as a sex offender after a conviction in Burbank.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Focus on Your Defense Today
Sex crimes are being harshly punished in today’s world. While victims deserve to get justice, false accusations can end up ruining innocent people’s lives. Make sure that you have the support you need by working with a sex crimes lawyer in Burbank right now. The Simmrin Law Group can start building your case today with a FREE consultation.