Costa Mesa residents can have a weapon in California, but a long list of gun laws accompany it. If you enter the legal system with a weapons charge, it is in your best interest to find a weapons charges lawyer in Costa Mesa immediately.
The legal professionals at the Simmrin Law Group have both knowledge and expertise in criminal defense strategy. We are here to clarify the legal process, assess all plea deals, and get your life back on track.
What Is a Concealed Weapon in California?
A concealed weapon is a weapon carried in such a manner that others don’t see or notice it. This definition is often stretched out of context by prosecutors to fit the crime. Items the court views as a weapon include:
- Handguns and shotguns
- Tasers and antique guns
- Rifles and revolvers
- Power tools
- Baseball bats
- Beer bottles
For a free legal consultation with a weapons charges lawyer serving Costa Mesa, call (310) 896-2723
What Is the Punishment if Caught Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Costa Mesa?
Under most circumstances, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon in Costa Mesa. A person caught violating this law can face criminal charges if a weapon is found on your person or in your car. These charges apply to common weapons like knives and tasers as well.
The penalty for carrying a concealed weapon in Costa Mesa, CA, is a fine of up to $10,000 and jail time for up to three years. However, both are avoidable if your carry concealed weapon permit is still valid. Your legal options can be openly discussed with a weapons charges attorney in Costa Mesa.
Costa Mesa Weapons Charges Lawyer Near Me (310) 896-2723
What Other Weapons Charges Are There?
This charge applies if a person recklessly discharges a gun in a way that threatens others’ safety. While the negligent discharge of a BB gun is a misdemeanor, if convicted of a felony, the penalty is probation, up to three years in jail, and a $10,000.00 fine.
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon
When a weapon is drawn in a threatening way in a public space, you can be charged with brandishing a deadly weapon. Self-defense does not count, but you can face up to three years in prison if found guilty.
Which Criminal Defense Strategy Will Help Your Weapons Case?
A weapons charge is a serious offense that can impact your life beyond Costa Mesa. It is crucial to strategize with an attorney with success with cases like yours and one with enough legal tenure to know which defense to use. A great defense lawyer can argue:
If it can not be proven that the defendant possessed the weapon upon being arrested, possession can be used as a defense tactic.
Fourth Amendment Right Violation
Upon searching for and confiscating property, law enforcement must follow rules to obtain a warrant and seize items. Any violation of the rules can have charges dismissed.
If the defendant felt it was necessary to use such force to protect themselves or other people from imminent harm, self-defense can be argued to reduce or clear a weapons charge.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Can You Sell Firearms in Costa Mesa?
California has always sought to promote firearm safety, as evident in its protective legislation. It is legal to sell firearms in Costa Mesa, but the sale of such weapons is heavily regulated with the same purpose in mind.
For those caught violating the rules set for the sales of weapons, the punishment consists of up to a $1000.00 fine and six months behind bars.
Is Hiring a Criminal Defense Lawyer Worth the Money?
For anyone involved in the criminal process, legal counsel is always a good idea. Some can’t afford a lawyer, in which a public defender will be appointed to them. Others may take the route of representing themselves, which is legal but for a weapons charge, not recommended.
If you can find a criminal defense lawyer near Costa Mesa, schedule a consultation to discuss their involvement in your weapons charges case. This firm offers a full suite of legal support, including but not limited to:
- Interview preparation with law officials
- Investigation of evidence
- Plea assessments
- Follow ups and appointment setting
- Pre-trial conference
- Defense strategy
While selecting legal representation is a personal choice, a weapons charge goes on public record. Selecting a firm that is well-known and top-rated may cost more, but your future is worth it.
How does California’s Three Strike Law Apply to a Weapons Charge?
If an offender commits three violent or serious felonies, they may be sentenced to 25 years to life under California’s Three Strikes Law. However, any felony that involves a firearm weapon can lead to a strike.
What Can Lessen a Weapons Charge?
Plea bargaining is a defense strategy used to lessen a felony charge to a charge that does not result in a strike. When offered by the prosecution, the deals don’t serve the defendant’s best interest. A weapons charge lawyer in Costa Mesa may suggest accidental discharge as a plea.
What Is a Sentencing Enhancement for a Weapons Charge?
California’s Three Strikes law is a common sentencing enhancement for a weapons charge. Legally, sentencing enhancements are rules that add more incarceration time to a sentence based on how a crime was committed.
For example, if a felon is caught in possession of a weapon or firearm, they could face up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.00. This is implemented under the Felon with a Firearm Law, Penal Code Section 29800.
Do You Need a Weapons Charges Lawyer in Costa Mesa?
California has an extensive list of gun laws that can be complex to understand. If you or someone you know has been criminally charged, get legal protection to gain peace of mind.
Our firm of expert criminal defense attorneys in Costa Mesa is waiting to defend you. Contact the Simmrin Law Group to handle your weapons charges today. We offer tailored legal support and a free initial consultation upon scheduling.