Facing a weapons charge in the Long Beach area can result in serious consequences, including fines and time in either jail or prison. Firearms are one of the most common weapons associated with these charges, and a weapons charge conviction in California could prevent you from ever owning them again.
You can work on building a defense for these charges by contacting a reputable criminal defense law firm in Long Beach. Getting legal aid quickly may better your odds of winning your court case and protecting your future liberties.
Fighting Weapons Charges in California
You could face several serious weapons charges in Long Beach. Many of these are gun crimes that are tied to the use of firearms, including:
- Carrying a Loaded Firearm
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon
- Felon With a Firearm
- Negligent Discharge
- Unlicensed Sale of Firearms
California also has a law on the books for crimes that do not necessarily involve firearms. This serious charge is called brandishing a weapon.
All of these charges can lead to severe penalties. You can work on building a solid defense for your unique situation by contacting an experienced team of weapons crime lawyers who understand the complicated rules of California’s court system.
For a free legal consultation with a lawyer serving Long Beach, call (310) 928-9347
Long Beach Area Gun Possession Crimes
The state of California has several weapons charges that relate solely to the possession of a gun. These charges can be complicated and may be treated as felonies or misdemeanors. They do not typically apply to things like air guns, pellet guns, or BB guns.
Carrying a Loaded Firearm
You could be charged with carrying a loaded firearm if you are holding a loaded gun that uses explosive propellants in a public area. You cannot be charged if you have a concealed carry permit, but otherwise you could face heavy fines or incarceration.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
California uses the carrying a concealed weapon charge to prosecute individuals who try to hide a firearm either on their person or in their vehicle. Note that if you possess a concealed carry permit you cannot be charged with this crime. Individuals without a permit could be sent to jail for up to three years if charged with a felony.
Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit in California is prosecuted under California Penal Code Section 25400.
Felon With a Firearm
Individuals who were previously convicted of serious crimes are not allowed to possess firearms in the state of California under the “felon with a firearm” law. This also applies to people convicted of certain misdemeanors, individuals addicted to narcotics, and people who are subject to certain protective orders or restraining orders. Any firearm possession charge in Long Beach can result in serious penalties that can impact your future.
Criminal Defense Lawyer Near Me (310) 928-9347
Negligent Discharge Laws in California
California considers negligent discharge to be the act of firing a gun of some kind in a way that is not safe. You must do this willfully and in a grossly negligent way that could have harmed someone to be convicted. This can be considered a misdemeanor or a felony based on your situation. It could lead to fines of up to $10,000 and a maximum of 3 years in a county jail.
Working with a Long Beach weapon charges lawyer who understands the legal system in California may help you defend yourself in the courtroom.
Unlicensed Sale of Firearms as a Weapons Charge
Individuals living in the Long Beach area who sell, transfer, or lease any kind of firearm without a license can be charged with the unlicensed sale of firearms. This charge is considered a misdemeanor, but it still comes with serious penalties. You could be fined up to $1,000 or sentenced to 6 months in jail if convicted.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Brandishing a Deadly Weapon in Long Beach
The charge of brandishing a deadly weapon is very broad in the state of California. It can apply to many weapons, including:
- Beer bottles
- Chain saws
You could face this charge if you drew a weapon around another person in a way that was threatening, rude, or angry. This charge also applies if you were in an argument or a fight and you drew a weapon without intending to defend yourself or another person.
Brandishing a deadly weapon can be seen as a misdemeanor, an aggravated misdemeanor, or a felony. As a felony, you could face up to 3 years in a state prison. Your weapon could also be confiscated and you could be banned from ever owning a firearm again.
Fighting this charge can be difficult and a conviction could affect you for the rest of your life. You can get help on your side by finding a weapons charges lawyer who will handle your case.
Protect Yourself with a Long Beach Weapons Charges Lawyer
Your future liberties could be at risk if you are faced with a weapons charge. The experienced weapons charges lawyers of the Simmrin Law Group can help you launch a defense. We can draw on our history of courtroom successes to support you. Contact us immediately for a FREE consultation about your case. We’re available whenever you need us. You can fill out the online form on the right or call us at (301) 997-4688 to start discussing your future.