The law for concealed carry is different in California when compared to other states. California Penal Code 25400 PC, or the state’s “carrying a concealed weapon” law, has made it a crime to carry a concealed weapon. This law applies whether the gun is inside your vehicle or on your person.
There are exceptions to this very strict rule, though, and meeting the requirements for an exception would give you the chance to secure a concealed carry permit in California. However, it is also vital that you understand all the potential penalties and consequences for carrying a concealed weapon in the state.
What Are the Penalties for Carrying a Concealed Weapon in California?
Carrying a handgun openly and carrying a concealed weapon without a permit are both illegal in the state of California. A conviction on either charge can result in heavy penalties. The potential consequences for both charges are generally the same and include:
A violation of California Penal Code Section 25400 can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on several factors. If a violation is charged as a misdemeanor, some of the potential consequences include:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Summary probation
The judge will consider the following before deciding your penalty:
- Any acts of violence you have committed in the past
- Your criminal history
- Evidence that you planned to use the gun
- Your failure to cooperate with law enforcement
If your violation of PC 25400 is processed as a felony, the potential consequences can greatly increase. A felony conviction could mean:
- Up to three years in prison
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- Formal probation
The following circumstances might make your concealed weapon charge a felony:
- Previous convictions of a firearm offense or felony in the state
- Knowingly carrying a stolen firearm
- Being involved in a gang
- Illegally possessing the firearm
- Being banned from carrying a firearm due to a restraining order or previous conviction
- A previous misdemeanor conviction against people or property
- A previous drugs or narcotics conviction
Felony charges are quite serious and can have a dramatic impact on your life. It is important to have a Los Angeles criminal defense lawyer from our firm to advocate on your behalf to minimize your legal penalties.
For a free legal consultation, call (310) 896-2723
How a Conviction for Carrying a Concealed Weapon Will Impact Your Life
When you are convicted of carrying a concealed weapon, it is not only the criminal penalties of a conviction that will haunt your life. In fact, even after you have fulfilled your sentence, there are multiple ways you could expect your life to be turned upside down by a weapons charge conviction.
Oftentimes, if you are placed on probation or released on parole, there will be specific restrictions you will need to adhere to.
You may be required to meet regularly with a probation or parole officer, complete random drug or alcohol testing, be required to abstain from illicit drug or alcohol use, find affordable housing, retain gainful employment, adhere to other housing restrictions, and fulfill other tasks, such as:
- Completing community service hours
- Attending regular group therapy or mental health counseling sessions
- Completing a drug or alcohol treatment program
- Performing volunteer work
- Enrolling in college courses
- Completing a MADD VIP or HAM program
Other Legal Issues
Whether you are convicted and required to complete the terms of your sentence or are placed in a pretrial diversion program, there are specific rules and regulations you will be expected to adhere to if you hope to avoid ending up back behind bars.
Those who do not pay restitution as ordered, complete their court order programs or counseling sessions and otherwise violate the court order can face additional criminal charges or other criminal penalties. However, once the terms have been met, you can put the experience behind you and get back to your life.
Do You Lose the Right to Own Firearms After a Concealed Weapon Conviction?
Whether you will lose your right to own a firearm after a conviction for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon depends on how the charge is processed.
A misdemeanor conviction for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit is not enough to revoke your right to own a firearm. However, if the misdemeanor caused you to be placed as a ward of the juvenile court, you will be banned from owning or having a firearm until you are 30 years old.
Meanwhile, a felony conviction for a concealed weapon charge will result in the revocation of your right to bear or own guns in California. However, you can petition to have your right to possess firearms restored or secure a pardon from the governor of the state.
Click to contact our Criminal Defense Lawyers today
Potential Defenses Against a Violation of PC 25400 Charge
There are several potential defenses your lawyer can use to help protect you against a charge for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon. Some of the most common defenses are:
- The defendant unknowingly carried a firearm
- The defendant has a concealed carry permit
- The weapon was discovered during an illegal search
- The firearm was in the defendant’s residence or place of business
- The gun was properly stowed for transportation
The Defendant Unknowingly Carried a Firearm
Knowledge of the weapon’s presence in your possession is a critical element when it comes to a charge for illegal possession of a concealed firearm. If someone else placed the weapon on your person or in your vehicle without your knowledge, you are not guilty of a violation of PC 25400.
However, this defense can often be difficult to prove. Also, not realizing you had a weapon on you because you forgot you had placed it in your purse, suitcase, vehicle, or somewhere else, is not a valid excuse. The gun must have been placed there by someone else.
The Defendant Has a Concealed Carry Permit
If you meet all the qualifications and have obtained a special permit for carrying a concealed weapon, you are not guilty of illegally carrying a concealed weapon. You must be able to prove that you had a valid permit at the time you were charged.
The Weapon Was Discovered During an Illegal Search
Even if you did technically violate the law regarding illegally carrying a concealed weapon, you may be able to get the charge dismissed. If the firearm was discovered as part of an illegal search, the charge is invalidated. A police officer must have a search warrant, your permission, or reasonable cause to search your person, vehicle, or other property.
The Firearm Was in the Defendant’s Residence or Place of Business
If you are otherwise legally allowed to own a gun, carrying that weapon in your home or a business that you own is not a violation of PC 25400.
The Gun Was Properly Stowed for Transportation
You can have a gun in your vehicle in California so long as you are legally allowed to own the weapon and you properly stow it away for transportation. It is legal to carry a firearm in the trunk of your vehicle or in a locked container within your vehicle (excluding the glovebox).
Other Potential Defenses
There may be other defenses or even multiple defenses your attorney could use in your case. For one, your attorney could argue there is not enough convincing evidence to convict you beyond a reasonable doubt.
Alternatively, your attorney could argue certain evidence other than the weapon was obtained illegally. Entrapment is another potential defense in many criminal cases.
Regardless, your attorney will consider each potential defense for your case.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Who Can Apply for a Concealed Carry Permit in California?
The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals determined in “Peruta v. County of San Diego” that the right of California’s citizens to bear concealed guns is not protected by the Second Amendment. Since the U.S. Supreme Court has refused any challenge to the ruling, the concealed carry ban in California remains in effect.
However, you can obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon. If you plan on applying for a permit to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) in California, you must meet the following guidelines:
- Display good moral character
- Show cause to justify the permit (ex. you or your loved ones are in danger, and the threat can be reduced if you have a concealed firearm)
- Be at least 21 years old
- Own a firearm registered in the state
- Completion of a firearms training class
- Be a resident or run a business in the city or county from which you are securing a CCW license
How Do You Apply for a CCW?
Application procedures for concealed carry permits differ between counties. This is because the local authorities (ex. police chiefs and county sheriffs) determine the process for issuing CCW licenses.
The first step typically entails that you pass a standardized application sheet and pay the required fees. You’ll then be scheduled for an interview and fingerprinted. The issuing agency can also demand another interview and a psychological assessment.
Why Was I Disqualified Even After Meeting All Legal Requirements?
Even if you have met the state’s legal requirements for getting a CCW, your application can still be denied because of your records or past behavior. For instance, you will be disqualified from obtaining a CCW permit if you have been convicted of specific misdemeanors, a domestic violence offense, or any felony.
You will also be denied a concealed carry permit if you have been diagnosed with a mental illness or are addicted to narcotics.
Even if you are granted a license, there are several other laws you must obey regarding carrying and using a firearm. Some California gun laws ban certain kinds of sidearms and explosives or will not allow you to carry guns outside your home.
What if You Carried the Weapon from a Different State?
If you have a concealed weapon permit from another state, you still do not have the right to carry a concealed weapon in California. Gun laws in the state of California apply to everyone, even if you are not a resident.
Moreover, carrying a concealed weapon without a state-sanctioned permit puts you at risk of being fined up to $10,000, arrested, and charged with a felony for violating Transportation Security Administration (TSA) rules.
Here’s How Our Firm Can Help
You may be feeling anxious about your situation. In addition to that, you might be pressured with family and financial matters. You’ll be able to focus on these matters if you leave your legal matters up to a California criminal defense attorney from our firm.
Your attorney can handle any situation involving a criminal charge, including a charge for carrying a weapon. There’s a lot your attorney can do for you, including:
Communicating on Your Behalf with Other Parties
If the authorities or any prosecutors contact you about your charge, you don’t have to answer any of their questions or even communicate with them at all. Instead, you can and should leave this to an attorney from our firm. Your attorney can respond in a manner that will protect you from further incrimination.
Collecting Evidence for Your Case
You may struggle to find evidence of your innocence on your own. You should leave this to your attorney. Your attorney may be able to obtain a statement from a witness or a firearms expert more easily. Additionally, your attorney will be able to collect such evidence as police body camera footage that may serve your case.
Your attorney will also review and potentially refute the evidence against you, such as the prosecution’s claim that you planned to use the weapon or that you failed to cooperate with law enforcement.
Determining Your Legal Options
Whether you’re charged with or even convicted of a crime, there could be many different legal options available to you. One of these options may be your lawyer requesting an expunction of your charge. With an expunction, your charge will be either hidden or removed from your criminal record.
Another potential option could be a plea bargain, which means admitting to a lighter charge in exchange for lighter penalties. For instance, you could admit to a misdemeanor instead of a felony, and then you may receive the lighter penalties associated with misdemeanors.
There may be other options, such as bail. Your lawyer can discuss this option and the potential bail payment amount with you.
About Our Criminal Defense Firm in California
Our firm fights for the underdog, including anyone charged with carrying a weapon. You might have had a valid reason for doing so, and we’ll make sure the judge hears it. We’ll also make sure your rights are protected and that you’re treated fairly by the prosecution and the judge.
Our firm’s criminal defense attorneys have decades of experience handling criminal cases like yours. Our attorneys also have many strong relationships in the legal space, so we have many professionals available to us who may be able to help with your case.
Michael Simmrin, our founder and primary attorney, has handled over 100 jury trials and helped thousands of clients. You should be confident he and his team can help you, too.
Obtaining Legal Representation After an Arrest
Being charged with carrying a concealed weapon without a permit in California can have severe repercussions in your life. You should have a criminal defense lawyer to help ensure your rights are protected and that you are defended well against the charge.
Contact Simmrin Law Group today to find out how we can help you with your case and more about the specific penalties you will face for carrying a concealed weapon. We offer free consultations. Call today to get started on your defense strategy.
Call or text (310) 896-2723 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form